Ellington, Duke
Blues In Orbit
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Ellington, Duke

Blues In Orbit
Sealed 2015 180gm Analogue Productions audiophile remaster. Housed in a heavy duty gatefold jacket with two AP gold hype stickers affixed to outer resealable baggie. Remastered by Bernie Grundman. "Blues in Orbit lacks the intellectual cache of the suites and concept pieces that loomed large in Ellington's recordings of this period, but it's an album worth tracking down, if only to hear the band run through a lighter side of its sound -- indeed, it captures the essence of a late-night recording date that was as much a loose jam as a formal studio date, balancing the spontaneity of the former and the technical polish of the latter. Ellington and company were just back from a European tour when the bulk of this album was recorded at one after-midnight session in New York on December 2, 1959 -- the arrangements had to be hastily written out when the copyist failed to appear for the gig. So on the one hand, the band was kicking back with these shorter pieces; on the other, the group was also improvising freely and intensely at various points. The title track, recorded more than a year before most of the rest, is a slow blues that puts Ellington's piano into a call-and-response setting with the horns, with Ellington getting in the last word. "Villes Ville Is the Place, Man" is a bracing, beat-driven jaunt, highlighted by solos featuring Ray Nance, Harry Carney, and Johnny Hodges on trumpet, baritone sax, and alto, respectively. "Three J's Blues" shows off composer Jimmy Hamilton playing some earthy tenor sax in a swinging, exuberant blues setting. "Smada" features Billy Strayhorn on piano and Johnny Hodges on alto, in a stirring dance number, and "Pie Eye's Blues" is a hot studio improvisation featuring Ray Nance and Jimmy Hamilton trading three solos each." All Music Guide - Bruce Eder

In Stock

Track List

A1 Three J's Blues 2:50
A2 Smada 2:35
A3 Pie Eye's Blues 3:25
A4 Sweet And Pungent 4:00
A5 C Jam Blues 4:50
B1 In A Mellow Tone 3:38
B2 Blues In Blueprint 2:38
B3 The Swingers Get The Blues Too 3:05
B4 The Swingers' Jump 4:50
B5 Blues In Orbit 2:25
B6 Villes Ville Is The Place, Man 2:25

Related Items