Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records


Sealed 2010 2LP Promo, Scratch Off Cover, 180gm HQ LP With Custom Inner Sleeves And See-Through Hype Sticker On The Shrink Wrap. Minor Corner Bump. “After The Smashing Success Of Oracular Spectacular, It Was Clear That MGMT Were Going To Be At A Bit Of A Crossroads When It Came Time To Follow It Up. Would They Try To Simply Re-Create Their Single-Rich Debut And Pray That They Avoided The Sophomore Slump, Or Would They Continue To Evolve? Fortunately For The Listening Public At Large, They Opted For The Latter, Delivering A Follow-Up Album That Matches, If Not Triumphs Over, Their Earlier Work. MGMT Have Taken A More Dynamic Approach To Songwriting On This Album, Tossing Aside The Dancing Thump Of “Electric Feel” And “Kids” In Favor Of Songs That Build In A More Deliberate And Satisfying Way. “Flash Delirium” Folds Upon Itself Again And Again, Ramping Up To A Wall Of Sound Chorus Before Letting Loose With A Big, Glam/Garage Finish, As If To Vent Off Any Excess Musical Pressure Before Heading Into The More Subdued “I Found A Whistle.” This Kind Of Careful Songwriting Tracks All Throughout The Album, Giving Congratulations A More Cohesive Feeling. While This Kind Of Musical Vision Means There Isn’t Really A Clear-Cut Single, It Does Make For An All Around Better Album. From The Opening Moments Of The Sublime “It’s Working” All The Way To The Titular Closer, Congratulations Is An Incredible Follow-Up From A Band That Is Still Maturing Into Some Unknown Entity.” Gregory Heaney, AMG.

In Stock
  • Artist: MGMT
  • Genre: Pop
  • Type: New - LP
  • Label: Columbia
  • Catalog ID: 88697453351
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
  • Country ID: USA
  • SKU: 156171

Track List

A1 It's Working 4:05
A2 Song For Dan Treacy 4:09
A3 Someone's Missing 2:29
B1 Flash Delirium 4:15
B2 I Found A Whistle 3:40
C1 Siberian Breaks 12:09
D1 Brian Eno 4:31
D2 Lady Dada's Nightmare 4:31
D3 Congratulations 3:54