2 Over Ten
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records


2 Over Ten
2002 US Heavy Vinyl Gatefold Original. “The Cuts' Second Album Sounds A Little Like A Late-1970s New York Or Boston New Wave Effort That Managed To Escape The Radar (Though The Group Are In Fact From Oakland, CA, And 2 Over Ten Was Done 25 Years Or So After The Late 1970s). Andy Jordan's Clipped, Faintly Hysterical Lead Vocals Will Spark Unavoidable Comparisons To Tom Verlaine, And Less So To David Byrne And Jonathan Richman. The Band, Too, Have Their Similarities To Vintage Television In Particular, With The Watery Keyboard Sound Also Dragging In The Talking Heads And The Modern Lovers As Reference Points (Though The Group's Far More In The Television Camp Than The Talking Heads One). There's A Modest, Affable Looseness That Leaves The Impression That They Might Have Come Off As More Gentle Souls Than They Intended. Non-New Wave Influences Are Felt Strongly At Times: In Some Late-'60s-Styled Harmony, And Guitars Both Power Popping And Jangly, As Well As Some Of The Boozy Blues-Rock-Pop Feel Of Early-'70s (Vintage) Rolling Stones In Tracks Like "Electric Rite." The Rub Is That With All These Hallowed Acts Serving As Reference Points, The Group Sound Kind Of Derivative, But At Least They're Derivative Of Less-Cliched Sources Than Many Other Early 21st Century Bands Indebted To Retro Heroes.” Richie Unterberger, AMG.

In Stock
  • Artist: Cuts
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Label: DBK Works
  • Catalog ID: dbk106
  • Condition:
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: US
  • SKU: 86326

Track List

A1 How Can I Get Through
A2 Electric Nite
A3 Losing Sleep
A4 Flip A Coin
A5 This Side Of Heaven
A6 Mr. W's Holiday
B1 Paradise
B2 Didn't Live Enough
B3 2/10 (Hang On Sean)
B4 Dreams
B5 The Early Bird (She Sings For You)