Jeffreys, Garland
American Boy & Girl
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Jeffreys, Garland

American Boy & Girl
Sealed 1979 Original. “Garland Jeffreys Employed A Studio Full Of High-Priced Session Musicians On His Previous Album, 1978's One-Eyed Jack, But The Disc Failed To Capitalize On The Breakthrough Represented By Its Predecessor, 1977's Ghost Writer, Which Had Employed Much The Same Group Of Players. A Year-And-A-Half Later, On American Boy & Girl, Jeffreys Is Accompanied By His Stage Band, A&M Records Apparently Cutting The Recording Budget Or Finally Realizing That It's Jeffreys' Songs More Than His Musicians That Matter. This Collection Is A Good Representation Of His Street Poet Persona, In Which He Sings Feelingly Of The Challenges Faced By Lower Class Urban Youth In Their Struggle To Escape Their Upbringing. "City Kids" Puts The Matter In Stark Terms, The Lyrics A First-Person Account From One Of The "Delinquents And Reprieves/Orphans And The City Kids" Who Survive On The Street Committing Crimes "For A Thrill.” "American Boy & Girl," Which Follows, Finds The Singer Describing Two Young People, Again Challenged By Drugs And Desperation, But Hoping That "A Little Inspiration" Will Save Them And Pleading In The Chorus, "Don't You Let Me Down." Clearly, The Songwriter Sees Himself As One Who Managed To Save Himself From Similar Circumstances, And He Devotes Songs Like "Livin' For Me," "Ship Of Fools," And "If Mao Could See Me Now" To Declarations Of Self-Worth And Accomplishment. Unlike Some Who Have Romanticized Street Life, Jeffreys Faces It Unsentimentally, But He Also Addresses It With An Expressive Tenor And A Set Of Rock & Roll And Reggae Tunes That Make The Message Go Down Easier.” All Music Guide - William Ruhlmann.

$35.00 $25.00

Sold Out

Apologies, the one-of-a-kind album you wanted is sold, but please explore similar records from the largest online collection for more unique finds!

  • Genre: Pop
  • Type: New - LP
  • Label: A&M
  • Catalog ID: SP 4778
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: USA
  • SKU: 91279

Track List

A1 Livin' For Me 4:19
A2 Bad Dream 2:44
A3 City Kids 5:12
A4 American Boy & Girl 3:52
A5 Matador 4:38
B1 Night Of The Living Dead 4:43
B2 Bring Back The Love 3:28
B3 Ship Of Fools 3:00
B4 Shoot The Moonlight Out 3:23
B5 If Mao Could See Me Now 5:09

Related Items

Jeffreys, Garland
Jeffreys, Garland
Jeffreys, Garland
$45.00 $50.00
Jeffreys, Garland
Jeffreys, Garland