Cash, Johnny
American Recordings
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Cash, Johnny

American Recordings
Sealed, Latest Run Of The 2018 180gm Reissue. Produced By Rick Rubin. No Hype Sticker. "Johnny Cash Was In The Unenviable Position Of Being A Living Legend Who Was Beloved By Fans Of Classic Country Music Without Being Able To Interest Anyone In His Most Recent Work When He Was Signed To Rick Rubin's American Recordings Label In 1994. Rubin, Best Known For His Work With Edgy Rockers And Hip-hop Acts, Opted To Produce Cash's First Album For American, And As He Tried To Brainstorm An Approach That Would Introduce Cash To A New Audience, He Struck Upon A Brilliant Idea -- Doing Nothing. For American Recordings, Rubin Simply Set Up Some Recording Equipment In Cash's Tennessee Cabin And Recorded Him Singing A Set Of Songs Accompanied Only By His Acoustic Guitar. The Result Is An Album That Captured The Glorious Details Of Johnny Cash's Voice And Allowed Him To Demonstrate Just How Emotionally Powerful An Instrument He Possessed. While Rubin Clearly Brought Some Material To Cash For These Sessions -- It's Hard To Imagine He Would Have Recorded Tunes By Glenn Danzig Or Tom Waits Without A Bit Of Prodding -- Cash Manages To Put His Stamp On Every Tune On This Set, And He Also Brought Some Excellent New Songs To The Table, Including The Vietnam Veteran's Memoir "Drive On," The Powerful Testimony Of Faith "Redemption," And A Sly But Moving Recollection Of His Wild Younger Days, "Like A Soldier." American Recordings Became A Critical Sensation And A Commercial Success, Though It Was Overrated In Some Quarters Simply Because It Reminded Audiences That One Of America's Greatest Musical Talents Was Still Capable Of Making Compelling Music, Something He Had Never Stopped Doing Even If No One Bothered To Listen. Still, American Recordings Did Something Very Important -- It Gave Cash A Chance To Show How Much He Could Do With A Set Of Great Songs And No Creative Interference, And It Afforded Him The Respect He'd Been Denied For So Long, And The Result Is A Powerful And Intimate Album That Brought The Man In Black Back To The Spotlight, Where He Belonged." AMG Review By Mark Deming.

In Stock
  • Artist: Cash, Johnny
  • Genre: Country
  • Type: New Import
  • Catalog ID: 0600753441695
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: Europe
  • SKU: 170882

Track List

A1 Delia's Gone
A2 Let The Train Blow The Whistle
A3 The Beast In Me
A4 Drive On
A5 Why Me Lord
A6 Thirteen
A7 Oh, Bury Me Not (Includes The Introduction To Cowboy's Prayer)
B1 Bird On A Wire
B2 Tennessee Stud
B3 Down There By The Train
B4 Redemption
B5 Like A Soldier
B6 The Man Who Couldn't Cry

Related Items

Cash, Johnny
$65.00 $70.00
Cash, Johnny
Cash, Johnny
Cash, Johnny
Cash, Johnny
$25.00 $30.00
Cash, Johnny