White Noise
An Electric Storm

White Noise

An Electric Storm
Stunning UK Early 1970's Palm Tree Label. White Noise Was Really One David Vorhaus (B,Sc,Dip.Elec) American Born, Son Of A Black-Listed Film Director. He Avoided The Draft By Moving To England. Later He Became A Post Graduate Working On An Electronics Degree At The Northern Polythechnic Whilst Studying Classical Music Playing The Double Bass. After Attending A Lecture By The Group Unit Delta Plus, Vorhaus Was Compelled To Combine His Love Of Music With His Scientific Background And Start Making His Own Music. At The Time Unit Delta Plus Were Brian Hodgson And Delia Derbyshire Who Were Persuaded To Collaborate With Vorhaus On His Early Recordings Whilst They Continued Their Day Jobs At The BBC's Radiophonic Workshop, Itself A Shrine To New Electronic Music And Birthplace Of The Famous Dr. Who Theme. After Recording Two Tracks On A Six-Revox Set Up All Synchronized By One Remote Control, (The Mains On/Off Switch), Vorhaus Found Himself Introduced By Chance To Island Records' Chris Blackwell. Chris Was So Captivated By The White Noise Experience That He Shunned Their Appeal For A One-Off Singles Deal And Demanded That They Do A Whole Album Of Material. An Instant Cheque For £3,000 Quenched Their Fears About Not Earning A Quick Buck Through A Hit Single And Our Band Of Merry Pranksters Set About Building Their Own Sonic Laboratory In London's Camden Town Out Of 'Borrowed' Gear, Home Made Gizmos And Equipment More Associated With A Science Lab Than A Recording Studio. 'Songs' Took Ages To Build, Each Note Being A Compilation Of Various Tape Edits Painstakingly Stuck Together. After A Year Island Records Became Nervous And Demanded A Conclusion In A Matter Of Days Which, Luckily, White Noise Managed To Pull Off. The Album Was Released In A Total Vacuum. Vorhaus Played No Gigs And Did No Interviews. Word Of Mouth Over Many Years Caused This Album To Sell Tens Of Thousands Of Records.
In Stock
  • Artist: White Noise
  • Genre: Electronic
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Catalog ID: ILPS 9099
  • Condition:
    Very Good Plus (VG+)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: UK
  • Our ID: 31563

Track List

A1 Love Without Sound 2:57
A2 My Game Of Loving 3:38
A3 Here Come The Fleas 2:31
A4 Firebird 2:43
A5 Your Hidden Dreams 4:25
B1 The Visitation 11:45
B2 The Black Mass: An Electric Storm In Hell 7:04

Related Items