At The Chelsea Nightclub
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records


At The Chelsea Nightclub
1979 Original. “Formed In Surrey, England, In The Summer Of 1977, The Members Were Among The New Wave Of British Bands Jumping On The Punk Bandwagon. The Band -- Composed Of Nicky Tesco (Vocals), Jean-Marie Caroll (Guitar), Gary Baker (Guitar), Adrian Lillywhite (Drums), And Chris Payne (Bass) -- Was Among The First To Successfully Blend Reggae Rhythms With Punk's Attitude And Aggression. Stiff Records Saw Some Promise In The Band And Signed Them Early In 1978, Releasing Their First Single, "Solitary Confinement." The Success Of The Single Led To Their Signing With Virgin Records In 1979. Their Virgin Debut Single, "Sound Of The Suburbs," Made It Into The British Top 20 But Subsequent Singles Failed To Match Its Success. After Replacing Baker With Nigel Bennett, They Recorded Their First LP, Live At The Chelsea Nightclub, Which Also Made A Brief Appearance In The Lower Reaches Of The U.K. Charts. Around This Time, The 2-Tone Movement Was Stealing Much Of Their Limelight And Their Popularity Began To Fade.” – Chris Woodstra, AMG

$10.00 $5.00

Sold Out

Apologies, the one-of-a-kind album you wanted is sold, but please explore similar records from the largest online collection for more unique finds!

  • Artist: Members
  • Genre: Pop
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Label: Virgin
  • Catalog ID: VI 2120
  • Condition:
    Very Good (VG)
    Very Good Plus (VG+)
  • Country ID: USA
  • SKU: 56821

Related Items