August Born
August Born
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

August Born

August Born
2005 Original With Insert, Still In Shrink “August Born Is The Pairing Of Ben Chasny (Six Organs Of Admittance, Comets On Fire) And One Of His Spiritual Mentors, Japanese Drummer Hiroyuki Usui (Who Plays With Keiji Haino's Fushitsusha). The Pair Recorded In Their Respective Countries. As Such, August Born Is A Semi-Disjointed Project: Full Of Fits And Starts And Fragmentary Thoughts; Loose, Jagged, And Occasionally Utterly Disjointed. There Are Moments, However, When It All Flows Together, As On "Dead Bird Blues" And "More Dead Bird Blues" — Which Bookend "A Thousand Butterflies." Usui's Moaning And Droning Vocal Offers Chasny A Place To Dig Under The Frame Of The "Tunes" With His Rather Heavy Hand And Try To Break The Vocal Down Instrumentally. Also, Chasny's Vocal On "Birds & Sun & Clay" Is A Tender Aside — Reflective, Poignant, And Utterly Empathetic With His Guitar Work — And Usui's Drumming Skitters Around The Song Rather Than Through It. The Album Closes With His Solo "You Will Be Warm," A Shimmering Climax To A Jagged And Unsettling Offering, Leading The Listener To Wish That These Two Had Been In The Studio Together Instead Of Being Literally A World Apart.” – Thom Jurek, All Music Guide

In Stock
  • Artist: August Born
  • Genre: Psych
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Label: Drag City
  • Catalog ID: DC 284
  • Condition:
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: USA
  • SKU: 68022

Track List

A1 Blues To Begin
A2 Dead Bird Blues
A3 A Thousand Butterflies
A4 More Dead Bird Blues
A5 Last Breath Of The Bird
B1 Birds & Sun & Clay
B2 Song Of The Dead
B3 Providence
B4 A Lot Like You
B5 You Will Be Warm