Lee, Ben
Awake Is The New Sleep
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Lee, Ben

Awake Is The New Sleep
2016 US Limited Edition Vinyl, 2LP Gatefold Pressing. Tiny Beginning Of Seam Split At Top Edge. Originally Released In 2005, This Is The First Ever Vinyl Release Put Out On RSD 2016. Includes Printed Insert. "Like Most Musicians Who Make A Splash In Their Teens, Ben Lee Has Had A Hard Time Finding His Footing In His Twenties. First, His American Record Label, Grand Royal, Closed After The Release Of His 1999 Album Breathing Tornados, And Then, During The First Half Of The 2000s, Shifting Pop Trends -- Plus A General Unspoken Consensus That He Was No Longer A Pop Wunderkind Now That He Was In His Twenties -- Pushed Him Out Of The Limelight. He Managed To Get An Album Out In His Native Australia In 2002, A Move That Didn't Get Nearly As Much Attention In The U.s. As His 2003 Breakup With Celebrity Girlfriend Claire Danes. So, Approaching The Halfway Point Of His Twenties And The 2000s, Lee Was Adrift, But He Managed To Regroup, At Least Artistically, With His 2005 Album Awake Is The New Sleep. Reteaming With Renowned Indie Rock Producer Brad Wood, Who Helmed His 1997 Lp Something To Remember Me By, Lee Returns To The Gently Melodic, Tentatively Introspective Indie Pop That Marked His Best Work Of The '90s, But There Is A Difference Here. Where That Record, Along With Much Of His Previous Work, Was Marked By A Shy Innocence, Lee Is Older Now. He's Been Through The Wringer And Has Had His Heart Broken, And It's Given His Music A Greater Emotional Resonance. That Alone Would Have Made Awake Is The New Sleep Noteworthy, But What Makes It Stand Alongside Something To Remember Me By As His Strongest Album Is That He's Written A Strong, Melodic Set Of Songs And Wood Has Given Them A Colorful But Unadorned Production That Gives Each Tune Its Own Character. It's Not A Great Change -- He's Still A Gentle, Low-key Pop Singer/songwriter In The Vein Of Evan Dando -- But The Subtle Changes In Tone And Perspective Make Awake Is The New Sleep A Nice, Low-key Comeback And An Album That Proves That Lee Is Beginning To Reach His Musical Maturation." AMG - Stephen Thomas Erlewine.

In Stock
  • Artist: Lee, Ben
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Catalog ID: NW5115
  • Condition:
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: US
  • SKU: 175042

Track List

A1 Whatever It Is
A2 Gamble Everything For Love
A3 Begin
A4 Catch My Disease
A5 Apple Candy
B1 Ache For You
B2 Into The Dark
B3 No Right Angles
B4 Get Gotten
B5 Close I've Come
C1 The Debt Collectors
C2 We're All In This Together
C3 Light
C4 I'm Willing
D1 Begin (demo)
D2 How Lovers Pray (outtake)
D3 Gamble Everything For Love (live on KEXP)
D4 New Old Song (outtake)
D5 Desire (outtake)
D6 No Right Angles (live on KEXP)


Related Items

Lee, Ben
$30.00 $40.00