Rodgers, Nile
B-movie Matinee
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Rodgers, Nile

B-movie Matinee
Sealed 1985 Original With The Limited Edition 3-D Glasses Enclosed. Two Hype Stickers Plus The Original Record Store Price Tag On The Shrink Wrap. “Released In 1985, B-Movie Matinee Proved A Stellar Departure From Nile Rodgers' Initial Solo Outing. Leaving Behind The More Traditional Trappings Of His R&B-Inflected Debut, He Instead Looked To The Synthesized Future, Driving His Organic Bass And Guitars Into What Amounted To A Concept Album Of Sorts, Fueled By Memories Of Lazy Saturday B-Movie Afternoons. Bright, Punchy Pop Punctuates This Set. From The Quirky Sci-Fi Of "Plan-9" And The Contemporary Urban Groove On "State Your Mind," To "Let's Go Out Tonight," Which Meanwhile, Proved The Album's Hot Prospect, Dipping Into The Top 100, Giving Rodgers His Only Solo Chart Hit. Rounding Things Out Are The Ballad "Wavelength" And Rodgers' Immaculate Instrumentation -- Most Notably The Guitar And Bass, Which Bound Through The Funky "Groove Master" With Glee. Being Nile Rodgers Can't Be Easy, As The Mere Mention Of His Name Conjures Such Strong Sonic Images From His Chic Canon, And It's Hard To Ignore Those Predispositions When Listening To His Solo Material. But That's No Detriment To The Fine Set He's Unleashed Here.” AMG - Amy Hanson

In Stock
  • Artist: Rodgers, Nile
  • Genre: Pop
  • Type: New - LP
  • Catalog ID: 9 25290-1
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: US
  • SKU: 141208

Track List

A1 Plan-9 4:12
A2 State Your Mind 5:43
A3 The Face In The Window 4:14
A4 Doll Squad 3:50
B1 Let's Go Out Tonight 5:14
B2 Groove Master 4:38
B3 Wavelength 3:49
B4 Stay Out Of The Light 5:06