Black Crowes
Before The Frost...
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Black Crowes

Before The Frost...
Factory Sealed 2009 2LP Housed In A Gatefold Cover With Custom Inner Sleeves. One LP Is Pressed On White Vinyl And The Other Is Green. “Revitalized By Their 2008 Reunion, The Black Crowes Decided To Take A Genuine Risk, Recording A Double-Album's Worth Of New Material In Front Of A Live Audience At Levon Helm's Barn In Upstate New York...And Then Release The Second Half, Until The Freeze, As A Free Download-Only. To A Certain Extent, Such Formal Experiments Are Where The Crowes Can Really Stretch, As They're So Devoted To Rock & Roll Roots From Southern England To South Georgia, They Can't Add New Wrinkles To Old Traditions. But That's Not Exactly Right: They're Willing To Stretch Until At Least The Late '70s, Offering Their Spin On A Rolling Stones' Disco On The Album's First Single, "I Ain't Hiding." As True As That May Be, It's Too Snide And Easy, And Does A Disservice To What The Crowes Pull Off With Aplomb On This Rather Remarkable Record, A Record That Has All The Easy Interplay Of A Road-Tested Band But None Of The Weariness. The Crowes Play With Muscle And Grace, Easing Into The Rustic Ramble Of "Appaloosa" Or Getting Dirt Underneath Their Fingernails On The Stupendous Opener "Good Morning Captain," A Song That Sets The Keynote For The Rest Of The Record Both In Its Sturdy Construction And Enthusiastically Ragged Performance. More Than Anything, It's The Kineticism That Captivates, How The Band Deepens Their Already-Strong Songs With Muscle And Blood, Sounding Alive In A Way That They Never Quite Have In The Studio. No Longer Young Upstarts, They Wear Their Years Proudly On This Terrific Album, Sounding Like The Veteran Roadhounds They've Always Aspired To Be.” AMG - S.T. Erlewine

In Stock
  • Artist: Black Crowes
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: Colored Vinyl - New
  • Label: Silver Arrow
  • Catalog ID: SA 02 LP
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: US
  • SKU: 118677

Track List

A1 Aimless Peacock
A2 Good Morning Captain
A3 Been A Long Time (Waiting On Love)
A4 Greenhorn
B1 Appaloosa
B2 The Shady Grove
B3 The Garden Gate
B4 Shine Along
B5 Roll Old Jeremiah
B6 Houston Don't Dream About Me
C1 I Aint Hiding
C2 Kept My Soul
C3 Lady Of Ave A
C4 Make Glad
C5 And The Band Played On
D1 What Is Home?
D2 So Many Times
D3 A Train Still Makes A Lonely Sound
D4 Fork In The River
D5 The Last Place That Loves Lives