John Cougar Mellencamp
Big Daddy
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

John Cougar Mellencamp

Big Daddy
Sealed, Hard To Find 1989 Record Club Only Original. "Continuing With The Folk Inclinations Of The Lonesome Jubilee, John Mellencamp Recorded His Most Ambitious And Serious-Minded Album With Big Daddy. Mellencamp Produced The Record Himself, Giving The Album A Concise And Stripped-Down Sound, Which Help Give His Songs The Appearance Of Being Gritty Statements Of Truth. Unfortunately, Mellencamp Isn't Saying Nearly As Much As He Believes He Is, Since His Lyrics Tend To Be Clichéd And Half-Baked, Making Much Of The Album Feel Pompous And Self-Serving. This Is Only Reinforced By The Lack Of Rockers On Big Daddy, Since He Saves The Most Carefree Moment -- A Ripping Cover Of The Hombres' "Let It Out (Let It All Hang Out)" -- For An Unlisted Bonus Track. Still, When He Does Hit His Target, Like On The Gentle "Jackie Brown," The Stuttering, Fiddle-Driven "Sometimes A Great Notion," And Even The Self-Pitying "Pop Singer," Mellencamp Proves That His Talents Haven't Abandoned Him." AMG - Stephen Thomas Erlewine

In Stock
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: New - LP
  • Label: Mercury
  • Catalog ID: 838 220-1
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: USA
  • SKU: 85269

Track List

A1 Big Daddy Of Them All 3:29
A2 To Live 3:15
A3 Martha Say 3:41
A4 Theo And Weird Henry 4:48
A5 Jackie Brown 4:00
B1 Pop Singer 2:45
B2 Void In My Heart 2:27
B3 Mansions In Heaven 3:00
B4 Sometimes A Great Notion 3:29
B5 Country Gentleman 3:15
B6 J.M.'S Question 3:38

Related Items

John Cougar Mellencamp
John Cougar Mellencamp
John Cougar Mellencamp
John Cougar Mellencamp
John Cougar Mellencamp