Coloured Stone
Black Rock From The Red Centre
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Coloured Stone

Black Rock From The Red Centre
1987 US Release Compiling Tracks From The Band's First Two Australia Only Releases. Pressed On Virgin Vinyl. “Composed Of Two Sets Of Brothers, The Lawries And The Coabys, With Buna Lawrie As Songwriter, Lead Singer And Drummer, Coloured Stone's Songs And Their Sounds Are Naive, Which Is Not To Say Simplistic, And They're Straightforward And Disarmingly Honest. On This Record You Have Straightahead Rock Songs Devoid Of The Usual Aggression And Hostility And You Have Unique Mixtures Of All The Different Shades Of Modern Pop From Country To R&B To Rock And Reggae Mixed Up In Totally New Ways. Finding Original Rock In The Australian Bush Is Like Finding A Punk Band In Dubbo —- It Happens, But Don't Count On It. The Uniqueness Of This New Breed Of Desert Musician Is That They Play Fast, Loud And Often Raucous Music In A Landscape Otherwise Dominated Bythe Perennial C&W Tunes And Easy Listening Folk, Not So Much In The Fact They Are Black. The Melodies Are There, The Beat Is There And The Performances Are Uniformly Strong. . . Coloured Stone Is Not Some Kind Of Folk Or Ethnic Band; They Make Rock & Roll With All The Wit And Taste That One Can Expect Or Hope For, From The Personal To The Political Without Heavyhandednesss Or Didacticism. Years Of Discrimination And Determination, And Long Days And Nights On The Bush Tracks Have Honed Coloured Stone And Lawrie's Songs To Afine Edge.” – Rounder Records

In Stock
  • Artist: Coloured Stone
  • Genre: Pop
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Label: Rounder
  • Catalog ID: 5022
  • Condition:
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
    Very Good Plus (VG+)
  • Country ID: USA
  • SKU: 98316

Track List

A1 Island Of Greed 4:51
A2 Breaking Hearts 4:42
A3 Sacred Ground 2:53
A4 Michael William Lawrie 4:00
A5 Kapi Pulka 3:51
A6 She's The Girl With The Broken Heart 2:57
B1 Dancing In The Moonlight 4:28
B2 Take Me Back To The Dreamtime 5:07
B3 Magic Girl 4:51
B4 When I'm Gonna Learn 3:55
B5 I Wish I Was Living In Your Dreams 5:15
B6 Black Boy 3:22