Black Sea


Black Sea
Sealed 2019 200gm Remastered Reissue, Cut From New Masters Approved By Andy Partridge. "Xtc Continue On With The Big Drum Sound Of Drums And Wires, Adding More Polish And An Even Heavier-hitting Approach For Black Sea -- Their Arrangements Are Fuller And They Rock Harder Than Ever Before. Where Drums And Wires Implied Social Commentary, Black Sea More Directly Addresses Sociopolitical Concerns, Handling Them Not Strictly In A Theoretical Sense, But Rather Showing A Human Response To The Circumstances. Of Course, The Band's Skewed Outlook And Mid-'60s Pop Sense Keeps Things From Becoming Too Heavy -- Included Are Some Of Their Finest Songs, Like "Respectable Street," "Generals And Majors," And "Towers Of London," As Well As The Thoroughly Enjoyable Pop Fluff Throwaway "Sgt. Rock (Is Going To Help Me)" To Keep The Mood Light. All In All, There Isn't A Bad Song In The Bunch -- Black Sea Is Their Most Consistent Album To Date -- And Although Xtc Always Operated On The Fringes, The Album Is Their Most Commercial-sounding, Fitting In Perfectly With The New Wave Of The Late '70s/early '80s." AMG Review By Chris Woodstra.

Sold Out

Contact us to locate this item for you

  • Artist: XTC
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: New Import
  • Label: Ape House
  • Catalog ID: APELP104
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
  • Country ID: Europe
  • Our ID: 167246

Track List

A1 Respectable Street
A2 Generals And Majors
A3 Living Through Another Cuba
A4 Love At First Sight
A5 Rocket From A Bottle
A6 No Language In Our Lungs
B1 Towers Of London
B2 Paper And Iron (Notes And Coins)
B3 Burning With Optimism's Flames
B4 Sgt. Rock (Is Going To Help Me)
B5 Travels In Nihilon