Gallagher, Rory
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Gallagher, Rory

1973 Red Label Original, Appears To Be A Terre Haute Press Not All Disc With T In Matrix And Label Variation. “Kicking Off With The Furious "Walk On Hot Coals" Where Rory Gallagher's Stinging Guitar And Lou Martin's Insistent Piano Pounding Spar Within The Context Of One Of Rory's Classic Rockers, The Album Presents A Well Rounded Picture Of Gallagher's Eclectic Influences. A Jaunty, Acoustic Run Through Big Bill Broonzy's "Banker's Blues" (Oddly Credited To Gallagher), The Ragtime "Unmilitary Two-Step" As Well As An Unusually Straightforward Country Tune "If I Had A Reason" With Rory On Lap-Steel And Martin Doing His Best Honky-Tonk, Effectively Break Up The Blues-Rock That Remains The Soul Of The Album. The Album's Centerpiece, A Brooding "Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son" Finds The Band Locked Into A Swampy Groove For Over Eight Minutes As Gallagher Abbreviates His Own Solo Providing Room For Martin's Aggressive Piano. On "Hands Off" The Guitarist Even Picks Up Saxophone, And He Shows Off His Spooky Muddy Waters' Inspired Slide On The Train Chugging "Race The Breeze," One Of The Guitarist's Best Tunes.” Hal Horowitz, AMG.


Sold Out

Contact us to locate this item for you

  • Artist: Gallagher, Rory
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Label: Polydor
  • Catalog ID: PD 5522
  • Condition:
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: US
  • Our ID: 41409

Track List

A1 Walk On Hot Coals 7:01
A2 Daughter Of The Everglades 6:10
A3 Banker's Blues 4:44
A4 Hands Off 4:32
B1 Race The Breeze 6:52
B2 The Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son 8:23
B3 Unmilitary Two-Step 2:48
B4 If I Had A Reason 4:20

Related Items

Gallagher, Rory