Vee, Bobby
Bobby Vee's Golden Greats
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Vee, Bobby

Bobby Vee's Golden Greats
Sealed 1962 Stereo. Bobby Vee's Golden Greats was the first compilation of the singer's hits, assembled and released in late 1962, in time for Christmas of that year, at a point when he fairly ruled the charts and his records were thoroughly representative of what was happening in music. The biggest hits -- not in any particular order -- were reserved for the first side, the biggest hit on side two being "Rubber Ball," which peaked at number six. But the most interesting cut here is easily "Suzie Baby," originally recorded by Vee for the tiny Soma label and later licensed by Liberty Records. Dating from his early recording career, it captures him thoroughly in his Buddy Holly mode, and the effect is extremely haunting. Otherwise, every track here earned its place on the album, and the makers threw in as an added bonus Vee's rendition of Holly's "Everyday." Coupled with the presence of "Suzie Baby" and "Rubber Ball," which is sung in very much the manner of the late Texas rock & roll legend, it helps to make a significant part of this album a tribute to Holly. As a hits compilation, this is an above-average release, and it is actually unexpectedly thorough, mostly thanks to the obscurities included; but this is also too restricted a way in which to discover an underrated talent such as Vee -- those with an ounce of curiosity should invest in the CDs of his full albums. All Music Guide - Bruce Eder

In Stock
  • Artist: Vee, Bobby
  • Genre: Pop
  • Type: New - LP
  • Label: Liberty
  • Catalog ID: LST 7245
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: USA
  • SKU: 49638

Track List

A1 Take Good Care Of My Baby 2:27
A2 Devil Or Angel 2:17
A3 Punish Her 1:52
A4 Suzie Baby 2:48
A5 Walkin' With My Angel 2:20
A6 Stayin' In 2:03
A7 Run To Him 2:07
B1 Rubber Ball 2:17
B2 Please Don't Ask About Barbara 2:03
B3 How Many Tears 2:03
B4 Everyday 2:10
B5 Sharing You 2:03
B6 One Last Kiss 1:58
B7 More Than I Can Say 2:26
B8 Someday (When I'm Gone From You) 2:10


Related Items