Procol Harum
Broken Barricades
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Procol Harum

Broken Barricades
1971 Brown Label Original, Terre Haute Press. Housed In A Die-Cut Gimmick Gatefold By Unipak. Glossy Vinyl, Jacket Nice VG+ With Tiny corner Ding And Couple Small Dog-Ears On Die-Cuts. “Despite The Departure Of Organist Matthew Fisher, Procol Harum Survived, And This Album Is Ample Proof. Fisher Was One Of The Prime Architects Of The Harum Sound, And His Work On Such Classics As "Shine On Brightly" And, Of Course, "Whiter Shade Of Pale" Underline That. Procol Continued As A Four-Piece, And It Was Indeed A Good Thing That They Decided Not To Replace Fisher. The Sound Of The Band On This Album Is A Bit Sparser, But Definitely Not Without Dimension And Dynamics. "Simple Sister," One Of The Finest Gary Brooker/Keith Reid Compositions, Is Truly Glorious, With Robin Trower's Frightening Lead Guitar Work Juxtaposed Nicely Against A Wonderful String Arrangement. Several Other Tracks Are First Rate, Including "Power Failure" And "Playmate Of The Mouth." Along With Little Feat, Procol Harum Was A Great Survivor Among Rock Bands That Lost A Key Member. The Proof Is In These Grooves.” Matthew Greenwald, AMG.

$40.00 $35.00
In Stock
  • Artist: Procol Harum
  • Genre: Pop
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Label: A&M
  • Catalog ID: SP 4294
  • Condition:
    Very Good Plus (VG+)
    Very Good Plus (VG+)
  • Country ID: USA
  • SKU: 71464

Track List

A1 Simple Sister 5:50
A2 Broken Barricades 3:11
A3 Memorial Drive 3:46
A4 Luskus Delph 3:51
B1 Power Failure 4:33
B2 Song For A Dreamer 5:40
B3 Playmate Of The Mouth 5:04
B4 Poor Mohammed 3:09