Adderley, Cannonball
Cannonball's Sharpshooters
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Adderley, Cannonball

Cannonball's Sharpshooters
2009 180gm Vinyl Reissue, Still In Shrink With Hype Stickers. DMM On The Original George Neumann Cutting System. Light Corner Crease. "Recording Three Studio Albums For The Emarcy Label, Cannonball Adderley's Sharpshooters Were A Very Potent Jazz Band In The Late 1950s, One That Could Literally Swing The Daylight Outs Of Any Situation And Stand Tall With Their Peer Group. With Pianist Junior Mance, Bassist Sam Jones, And Drummer Jimmy Cobb, Cannonball And Brother Nat Adderley Were Young And Well-respected Enough To Lay Claim To This Quintet As A Top Five Band Along With Any Mainstream Jazz Groupings Of The Day. With Quintessential Small Group Players In The Rhythm Section, The Adderleys Really Have The Best Band Anyone Could Hope For In A Soul-jazz Context, But Also For Hard Bop. Tracks Like Tadd Dameron's "Our Delight," The Fast "Stay On It," And The Standard "If I Love Again" Are All Superlative Examples Of Rough-and-ready Post-charlie Parker Music, Especially The Latter Song Where The Horns Delve Into Some Fascinating Interplay." AMG - Michael G. Nastos.

$30.00 $25.00
In Stock
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Type: Used Import
  • Catalog ID: JWR 4502
  • Condition:
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: Spain
  • SKU: 166163

Track List

A1 Our Delight 4:40
A2 What's New 5:03
A3 Fuller Bop Man 3:44
A4 Jubilation 5:30
B1 Stay On It 4:43
B2 If I Love Again 5:27
B3 Straight, No Chaser 8:29
B4 I'll Remember April 5:32


Related Items

Adderley, Cannonball