Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records


1970 US Original, Santa Maria Pressing With Columbia Company Inner. VG+ With Light Inner Sleeve Scuffing, Housed In A Vibrant "Uni-Pal" Gatefold Jacket. Cut Corner. "By The Time Paul Revere & The Raiders Got Around To Recording Collage, The Original Group Was Down To Revere And Singer Mark Lindsay, Who Not Only Produced But Wrote Or Co-Wrote Nine Of The 11 Songs On This Album. In A Last Ditch Effort To Distance Themselves From Their Firmly Entrenched Am Radio/Singles Band Image, The Group Was Simply Billed As The "Raiders," With This Incarnation Including Guitarists-Singers Keith Allison And Freddy Weller, A Formidable Combination Of Talent. In The Rush To Embrace The Musical Changes In The Air And On The Air, The Raiders Finally Produced Their "Psychedelic" Album. There's A Pantsload Of Fuzzy Guitar Noodling, Time Signature Changes, Groovy Horn Charts À La Blood, Sweat & Tears, Trippy Headphone Cross-fading, And Other Hip Production Techniques Of The Time, All Popping In And Out Of The Album Like The Ear-Candy It Was Meant To Be. The Lyrical Focus Skitters Between Be-One-With-The-Band/Life-On-The-Road Exploits And Hippie Sloganeering And Social-Consciousness Raising, With A Solid Version Of Laura Nyro's "Save The Country" Kicking Off The Album. Of Special Interest Is The Later Redo Of "Gone-Movin' On," Which Had Appeared On An Earlier Paul Revere & The Raiders Album, Revolution!, In A Totally Different Version And Arrangement. While Fans Of The Bands' Early Hit 45s Should Avoid This Album Like The Plague, Completists And True Believers Will Definitely Want To Add It To Their Collections." AMG - Cub Koda.

In Stock
  • Artist: Raiders
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Label: Columbia
  • Catalog ID: CS 9964
  • Condition:
    Very Good Plus (VG+)
    Very Good Plus (VG+)
  • Country ID: US
  • SKU: 173194

Track List

A1 Save The Country
A2 Think Twice
A3 Interlude (To Be Forgotten)
A4 Dr. Fine
A5 Just Seventeen
B1 The Boys In The Band
B2 Tighter
B3 Gone Movin' On
B4 Wednesday's Child
B5 Sorceress With Blue Eyes
B6 We Gotta All Get Together