Young Marble Giants
Colossal Youth / Loose Ends And Sharp Cuts
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Young Marble Giants

Colossal Youth / Loose Ends And Sharp Cuts
Sealed 2020 2LP Special 40th Anniversary Edition Housed In A Single-Pocket Jacket; Includes The Original Album, A Bonus LP And A DVD Featuring The Band's Legendary 1980 Performance At Hurrah In NYC. "As Punk Rock Was Quickly Morphing Into Post-punk At The End Of The '70s, Welsh Trio Young Marble Giants Went Against The Amplified Aggression And Stylistic Chaos Of Many Of Their Peers, Instead Creating New Worlds Of Expression Through Subtraction. The Band's Vacuous Sound Was Almost Jarringly Minimal, With Incredibly Catchy Songs Consisting Of Alison Statton's Stoic Vocals, Fluid Electric Bass, Unwavering Skeletal Drum Machine Rhythms, And The Occasional Stab Of Guitar Or Haunted Organ Sounds. The Group Were Short-lived, Leaving Behind Only A Few Eps, Demos, And Colossal Youth, Their Sole Full-length Album From 1980, But Their Influence Would Ripple Out To Inform The Sounds Of Future Independent Music Creators From Nirvana To Belle And Sebastian. Colossal Youth Perfectly Captures The Band's Unique Approach, With 15 Short Songs Of Their Stark But Rough-edged Pop. Before Forming Young Marble Giants, Statton And Brothers Philip And Stuart Moxham Had All Played Together In A Band Called True Wheel, Who Took Their Name From The Title Of A Song On Brian Eno's 1974 Outing Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy). While Eno's Flirtations With Funk And Kraftwerk's Bare-bones Electronic Rhythms Were Reference Points For Young Marble Giants' Sound, It's Hard To Locate Many Other Implicit Influences On Colossal Youth. The Sinister Crawl Of "N.i.t.a." And Lonely Riffing Of "Music For Evenings" Could Serve As Foundations For The Songs Of Other Post-punk Bands, But Few Dared To Present Something So Intentionally Empty. The Album's Most Conventionally Structured Songs -- Tunes Like Atmospheric Opener "Searching For Mr. Right" Or The Would-be Rock & Roll Of "Credit In The Straight World" -- Are Defined By The Sharp Tension Created By Their Unfinished-feeling Arrangements. That Moody Tension Co-exists With Relatively Cheery Songwriting Throughout Colossal Youth, Maintaining A Strange Balance Between The Two Contrasting Energies For The Entire Album. Young Marble Giants Weren't The Only Band To Explore Pop Minimalism, But No One Else During Their Time Or Afterwards Quite Captured The Eerie Beauty That Floats Through Every Moment Of Colossal Youth. Its Songs Sound Like A Private Party In An Empty House, With Every Facet Of The Sound Aiming To Take Up As Little Space As Possible. Listening To Colossal Youth, It's Easy To See How This Introverted Album Full Of Tiny Sounds Made Such An Enormous Impact." AMG - Fred Thomas.

$55.00 $50.00
In Stock
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: New Import
  • Label: Domino
  • Catalog ID: REWIGLP32X
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: Europe
  • SKU: 177709

Track List

Colossal Youth
Loose Ends And Sharp Cuts
Hurrah, New York, November 1980
A1 Searching For Mr Right
A2 Include Me Out
A3 The Taxi
A4 Eating Noddemix
A5 Constantly Changing
A6 N.I.T.A.
A7 Colossal Youth
B1 Music For Evenings
B2 The Man Amplifier
B3 Choci Loni
B4 Wurlitzer Jukebox
B5 Salad Days
B6 Credit In The Straight World
B7 Brand - New - Life
B8 Wind In The Rigging
C1 Have Your Toupee Ready
C2 The Man Shares His Meal With His Beast
C3 Hayman
C4 Loop The Loop
C5 Ode To Booker T.
D1 Final Day
D2 Radio Silents
D3 Cakewalking
D4 This Way
D5 Posed By Models
D6 The Clock
D7 Clicktalk
D8 Zebra Trucks
D9 Sporting Life
DVD-1 N.I.T.A.
DVD-10 Cakewalking
DVD-11 Final Day
DVD-12 Salad Days
DVD-13 Searching For Mr Right
DVD-2 Choci Loni
DVD-3 Radio Silents
DVD-4 Music For Evenings
DVD-5 Colossal Youth
DVD-6 Credit In The Straight World
DVD-7 Brand - New - Life
DVD-8 Include Me Out
DVD-9 Wurlitzer Jukebox