Diamond, Neil
Hot August Night

Diamond, Neil

Hot August Night
2LP Reissue Of An All-Time Classic. Housed In A Non-Gatefold Jacket With Original Cat. Number, Still In Shrink With A Gold-Stamp Of Updated Cat. Number. Light Corner Rubs, Two Tiny Dings. "This Is The Ultimate Neil Diamond Record. Not Necessarily The Best -- He's At His Most Appealing Crafting In The Studio -- But Certainly The Ultimate, Capturing All The Kitsch And Glitz Of Neil Diamond, The Showman. And That Also Means That It's Not Just Loaded With Flair, But With Filler, Songs Like "Porcupine Pie," "Soggy Pretzels," And "And The Grass Won't Pay No Mind" -- Attempts To Write Grand, Sweeping Epics That Collapse Under Their Own Weight. Still, That's Part Of The Charm Of Diamond And While It Can Sound Unbearable On Studio Albums, It Makes Some Sense Here, Surrounded By His Pomp And Circumstance. That Spectacle Is The Great Thing About The Record, Since It Inflates Not Just His Great Songs, It Gives The Weaker Moments Character. At 20-plus Tracks In Its Original Release And Various Reissues Over The Years, This Does Wind Up Being A Little Much, But It Nevertheless Is The One Record For Casual Neil Fans (After The Hits Collections), Since It Shows Diamond The Icon In Full Glory." AMG Review By Stephen Thomas Erlewine.

Sold Out

Contact us to locate this item for you

  • Artist: Diamond, Neil
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Label: MCA Records
  • Catalog ID: MCA2-6896
  • Condition:
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: US
  • Our ID: 166655

Track List

A1 Prologue / Crunchy Granola Suite
A2 Done Too Soon / Dialogue
A3 Solitary Man
A4 Cherry Cherry
A5 Sweet Caroline (Good Times Never Seemed So Good)
B1 Porcupine Pie
B2 You're So Sweet
B3 Red Red Wine
B4 Soggy Pretzels
B5 And The Grass Won't Pay No Mind
B6 Shilo
B7 Girl You'll Be A Woman Soon
C1 Play Me
C2 Canta Libre
C3 Morningside
C4 Song Sung Blue
C5 Cracklin' Rosie
D1 Holly Holy
D2 I Am . . . I Said
D3 Soolaimon
D4 Brother Love's Travelling Salvation Show (Encore)