Led Zeppelin
Houses Of The Holy

Led Zeppelin

Houses Of The Holy
Sealed, Latest Repress Of The 2014 180gm 2LP Resissue. Housed In A Gatefold Cover With Wrap Around Obi. "Houses Of The Holy Follows The Same Basic Pattern As Led Zeppelin IV, But The Approach Is Looser And More Relaxed. Jimmy Page's Riffs Rely On Ringing, Folky Hooks As Much As They Do On Thundering Blues-Rock, Giving The Album A Lighter, More Open Atmosphere. While The Pseudo-reggae Of "D'yer Mak'er" And The Affectionate James Brown Send-up "The Crunge" Suggest That The Band Was Searching For Material, They Actually Contribute To The Musical Diversity Of The Album. "The Rain Song" Is One Of Zep's Finest Moments, Featuring A Soaring String Arrangement And A Gentle, Aching Melody. "The Ocean" Is Just As Good, Starting With A Heavy, Funky Guitar Groove Before Slamming Into An A Cappella Section And Ending With A Swinging, Doo Wop-Flavored Rave-Up. With The Exception Of The Rampaging Opening Number, "The Song Remains The Same," The Rest Of Houses Of The Holy Is Fairly Straightforward, Ranging From The Foreboding "No Quarter" And The Strutting Hard Rock Of "Dancing Days" To The Epic Folk/Metal Fusion "Over The Hills And Far Away." Throughout The Record, The Band's Playing Is Excellent, Making The Eclecticism Of Page And Robert Plant's Songwriting Sound Coherent And Natural." AMG Review By Stephen Thomas Erlewine.
$40.00 $35.00
In Stock
  • Artist: Led Zeppelin
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: New Import
  • Label: Atlantic
  • Catalog ID: 8122796573
  • Condition:
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: Europe
  • Our ID: 167825

Track List

A1 The Song Remains The Same 5:29
A2 The Rain Song 7:39
A3 Over The Hills And Far Away 4:50
A4 The Crunge 3:17
B1 Dancing Days 3:43
B2 D'yer Mak'er 4:22
B3 No Quarter 7:02
B4 The Ocean 4:31


Related Items