Sammy Davis Jr.
In Person Australia '77

Sammy Davis Jr.

In Person Australia '77
1977 Australian Gatefold Original. LP Appears Glossy, Unplayed. “This Is A Live Recording From A Concert In Sydney, Australia, But It Is Obviously Not The One Where Sammy Davis, Jr., Stoned Out Of His Mind On Cocaine And Alcohol, Walked Off-Stage After The First Number Was Over Because He Was Convinced He Had Just Done The Encore. Mentioning This Tale Is Not Indulging In Idle Gossip, As The Artist Himself Provided All The Juicy Details In His Autobiographical Writings. These Recordings Date From The Following Year, When He Was Rebounding From Personal Lows And Determined To Show The Audience That He Still Had The Stuff. He Was Also Riding High, So To Speak, On The Success Of Two Hit Parade Singles. Never Mind That He Had To Be Forced To Record Both Of Them, Or Rather Do Mind, Because He Does Versions Of Both Of These Songs Here And Neither Represents His Artistic Pinnacle...While Scholars Interested In This Sort Of Detail Can Debate Who Was More Inebriated In Their Lifetimes, The Singer Or The Songwriter, The Performances Here That Are Capable Of Hushing Satire Of The Davis Jr. Legend Are The Extended "Frank Sinatra Medley" And A Version Of "Rock-A-Bye Your Baby" That Has Become A Radio Programmer's Favorite. Both Performances Feature Not Only Vocal Mastery ,But This Artist's Virtuosity With Impressions, A Talent That He Developed During His Early Vaudeville Days, Utilized To Originally Lure The Great Sinatra To His Camp Of Loyal Followers, And Unfortunately Allowed To Be Overshadowed By The Glitzy Lifestyle Of The Rat Pack, Along With The Whole Concept Of Talent In General. Bristling, Aggressive Versions Of Expected Numbers Help Fill Out The Program, As Well As A Bit Of Less-Worthy Material. No Recording By This Artist From This Decade Would Be Complete Without Some Kind Of Hilariously Dated Business, And The Winner In This Case -- With Lots Of Serious Competition -- Is The Cover Version Of Television Detective Star Opus "Baretta's Theme.” Eugene Chadbourne, AMG.
In Stock
  • Artist: Sammy Davis Jr.
  • Genre: Pop
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Label: RCA
  • Catalog ID: VPL1 0146
  • Country ID: Australia
  • Our ID: 150325

Track List

A1 I've Gotta Be Me
A2 Bye Bye Blackbird
A3 Baretta's Theme
A4a Candy Man
A4b What Kind Of Fool Am I
A5 I Can Do That
A6 What I Did For Love
A7 Rock-A-Bye Your Baby (With A Dixie Melody)
B1 I Write The Songs
B2 I've Got You Under My Skin
B3 The Birth Of The Blues
B4 Frank Sinatra Medley
B4a You Will Be My Music
B4b I'll Never Smile Again
B4c Nancy With The Laughing Face
B4d Witchcraft
B4e In The Wee Small Hours
B4f Come Fly With Me
B4g My Way
B5 The Lady Is A Tramp
B6 Mr. Bojangles


Related Items