King Crimson
In The Court Of The Crimson King (An Observation By King Crimson)
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

King Crimson

In The Court Of The Crimson King (An Observation By King Crimson)
Sealed 2020 2LP 50th Anniversary Edition On 200gm Super-Heavyweight Vinyl, Housed In Deluxe Gatefold Jacket. Features A New Mix From Steven Wilson In 2019 & An Album Of Alternate Mixes And Studio Takes By Steve Wilson & David Singleton. All Approved By Robert Fripp. "The Group's Definitive Album, And One Of The Most Daring Debut Albums Ever Recorded By Anybody. At The Time, It Blew All Of The Progressive/psychedelic Competition (The Moody Blues, The Nice, Etc.) Out Of The Running, Although It Was Almost Too Good For The Band's Own Good -- It Took King Crimson Nearly Four Years To Come Up With A Record As Strong Or Concise. Ian Mcdonald's Mellotron Is The Dominant Instrument, Along With His Saxes And Fripp's Guitar, Making This A Somewhat Different-sounding Record From Everything Else They Ever Did. And Even Though That Mellotron Sound Is Muted And Toned Down Compared To Their Concert Work Of The Era (E.g., Epitaph), It Is Still Fierce And Overpowering, On An Album Highlighted By Strong Songwriting (Most Of It Filled With Dark And Doom-laden Visions), The Strongest Singing Of Greg Lake's Entire Career, And Fripp's Guitar Playing That Strangely Mixed Elegant Classical, Hendrix-like Rock Explosions, And Jazz Noodling. Lineup Changes Commenced Immediately Upon The Album's Release, And Fripp Would Ultimately Be The Only Survivor On Later King Crimson Records." AMG Review by Bruce Eder.

In Stock
  • Artist: King Crimson
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: New Import
  • Label: Panegyric
  • Catalog ID: KCLPX2019
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: Europe
  • SKU: 164860

Track List

A1 21st Century Schizoid Man (Including 'Mirrors')
A2 I Talk To The Wind
A3 Epitaph (Including 'March For No Reason' And 'Tomorrow And Tomorrow')
B1 Moonchild (Including 'The Dream' And 'The Illusion')
B2 The Court Of The Crimson King (Including 'The Return Of The Fire Witch' And 'The Dance Of The Puppets')
C1 21st Century Schizoid Man (1969 Take)
C2 I Talk To The Wind (Alternate 2019 Mix)
C3 Epitaph (Alternate Take, 2019 Mix)
D1 Epitaph (2019 Mix)
D2 Moonchild (Take I, 2019 Mix)
D3 The Court Of The Crimson King (1969 Take, 2019 Mix)
D4 21st Century Schizoid Man (Trio Version, 2019 Mix)