Fleck, Béla
Juno Concerto
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Fleck, Béla

Juno Concerto
2017 Original. "Bluegrass And Fusion Banjoist Béla Fleck And The Colorado Symphony Orchestra (A Group Well-placed For A Progressive Bluegrass Experiment) Here Offer Fleck's Juno Concerto, A Work Named For The Young Son Of Fleck And His Less Fleet-fingered But Equally Musically Adventurous Banjoist/vocalist Wife, Abigail Washburn. It's Not Fleck's First Attempt At A Banjo-classical Fusion: Often Working With Bassist Edgar Meyer, His Experiments In This Vein Go Back To The Quintet For Banjo And Strings, Written With Meyer In 1984 And Recorded In Part Here. Fleck, Alone, Composed An Earlier Full-fledged Banjo Concerto In 2011, Entitled The Impostor And Exploring The Seeming Contradiction Between Bluegrass Soloist And Classical Orchestra. The Juno Concerto Resembles The Earlier Works Written With Meyer A Bit More Than The Impostor, With Flowing Fusion Banjo Solos Blooming Out Of Copland-esque Fanfare Music In The Opening Movement. Fleck Announced His Intention "To Create More And Better Slow Music" In This Work, And Indeed The Slow Movement, Based On A Simple Plucked Figure In The Banjo, Is The Part That Sticks With You The Most Here." James Manheim, AMG


Sold Out

Apologies, the one-of-a-kind album you wanted is sold, but please explore similar records from the largest online collection for more unique finds!

  • Artist: Fleck, Béla
  • Genre: Classical
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Catalog ID: 1166100208
  • Condition:
    Very Good Plus (VG+)
    Very Good Plus (VG+)
  • Country ID: US
  • SKU: 158013

Track List

A1 Juno Concerto: Movement I 11:18
A2 Juno Concerto: Movement II 9:42
B1 Juno Concerto: Movement III 8:41
B2 Griff 14:37