Kaleidoscope World
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records


Kaleidoscope World
Sealed 2016 Deluxe 2LP Gatefold Reissue. Includes Download. "Kaleidoscope World Collects All Of The Chills' Early Singles, Starting With Their Contribution To 1982's Dunedin Double, Flying Nun's First Release, Through Their 1986 Single "I Love My Leather Jacket." It's Clear Right From The Start That Martin Phillipps Was A Special Songwriter And He Was Able To Inspire Whatever Group Of Musicians He Had Backing Him To Great Heights. Their Very First Song To See The Light Of Day Was The Song That Gives The Collection Its Title, And It's An Instantly Hooky, Restrained Slice Of Underground Pop That Has A Timeless Feel. Phillipps Was Able To Tap Into This Kind Of Warmly Rollicking Song Almost Every Time He Brought The Group Into The Studio. The Comp Is Full Of Songs That Capture The Restrained Beauty And Breathtaking Emotion Of That First Attempt, Seemingly In Effortless Fashion. "Pink Frost," "Rolling Moon," "This Is The Way," And "Purple Girl" All Fit The Bill; So Does The Slightly More Rocking "Leather Jacket" And The Morose But Still Pretty "Doledrums." Phillipps Saved Some Of His Weirder Inclinations For B-sides, And It's Fascinating To Hear The Straightforward Pop Songs Balanced With These Experiments And Offbeat Tunes. The Disc Provides A Look At The Formative Work Of One Of Flying Nun's Best Bands, Which Is Saying A Lot, And Also Helps Chills Fans Who May Not Have Been Quick Enough On The Draw To Get The Original Singles A Chance To Have All These Great Songs In One Easy-to-digest Package." AMG Review By Tim Sendra.

In Stock
  • Artist: Chills
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: New Import
  • Catalog ID: FNLP546
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: New Zealand
  • SKU: 164888

Track List

A1 Kaleidoscope World 3:45
A2 Satin Doll 4:28
A3 Frantic Drift 4:15
A4 Rolling Moon 3:55
A5 Bite 2:32
B1 Flame Thrower 3:19
B2 Pink Frost 4:01
B3 Purple Girl 3:25
B4 This Is The Way 2:32
B5 Never Never Go 2:10
B6 Don't Even Know Her Name 1:53
B7 Bee Bah Bee Bah Bee Boe 2:46
C1 Whole Weird World 3:29
C2 Dream By Dream 5:24
C3 Doledrums 3:12
C4 Hidden Bay 1:46
C5 I Love My Leather Jacket 2:58
C6 The Great Escape 2:31
D1 Oncoming Day (Early Version) 2:47
D2 Dan Destiny And The Silver Dawn (Unplugged) 2:28
D3 Martyn's Doctor Told Me 0:46
D4 I'll Only See You Alone Again 3:37
D5 Green Eyed Owl (Live) 5:33
D6 Smile From A Dead Dead Face (Live) 2:59

Related Items

$42.00 $46.00