Live Undead
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records


Live Undead
Sealed 2016 180gm Reissue, From The Metal Blade Records Originals Series. "Recorded And Released As A Follow-up To The Haunting The Chapel Ep, Specifically During The Tour For That Effort (Though Apparently Actually In A Studio With A Few Hypercharged Fans In Audible Attendance), Live Undead Shows The Band Still Coming Together In Ways. Hell Awaits Was Around The Corner And Reign In Blood Further Off Yet, So The Set Relies On Their Earliest Material, Sometimes Striking But Formative Nonetheless. But If Nothing Else Tom Araya's Part Snarling And Part Merry Way Around Death, Doom, And Destruction Was Already Nearly Settled -- Only One Or Two Rob Halford-level Shrieks Sneak Through Here And There ("The Antichrist" Cartoonishly So) -- While The Full Quartet's Judas Priest/iron Maiden In Absolute Overdrive Approach Was Already Paying Off. Dave Lombardo's Drumming Handled The Steadier Stomp Of Songs Like "Die By The Sword" Solidly While Going To Town On "Captor Of Sin" And Particularly "Evil Has No Boundaries," The Best Performance Of The Seven Songs. Jeff Hanneman And Kerry King -- The Latter Featuring A Slightly Unfortunate Hairdo On The Back Cover -- Strike Just Enough Of A Balance, However Unexpectedly, Between Technical Skill And Flailing Chaos. Hell Awaits Eventually Brought All The Newer Changes Out In Fuller Force, Even With Subpar Production, So Live Undead Isn't Really Necessary Except For The Hardest Of Hardcore Fans In The End, Especially In Comparison To Decade Of Aggression. Still, It Does Have Its "It Could Only Be Slayer" Moments -- Including Araya's Almost Casual Way Of Rudely Introducing "Captor Of Sin"." AMG Review By Ned Raggett.

In Stock
  • Artist: Slayer
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: New Import
  • Catalog ID: 3984-14033-1
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: Germany
  • SKU: 165777

Track List

A1 Black Magic
A2 Die By The Sword
A3 Captor Of Sin
A4 The Antichrist
B1 Evil Has No Boundaries
B2 Show No Mercy
B3 Aggressive Perfector
B4 Chemical Warfare (Studio Version)