Meat Is Murder
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records


Meat Is Murder
Sealed, Latest Run Of The 2012 180gm Reissue. EU Import. "With Their Second Proper Album Meat Is Murder, The Smiths Begin To Branch Out And Diversify, While Refining The Jangling Guitar Pop Of Their Debut. In Other Words, It Catches The Group At A Crossroads, Unsure Quite How To Proceed. Taking The Epic, Layered "How Soon Is Now?" As A Starting Point (The Single, Which Is Darker And More Dance-Oriented Than The Remainder Of The Album, Was Haphazardly Inserted Into The Middle Of The Album For Its American Release), The Group Crafts More Sweeping, Mid-Tempo Numbers, Whether It's The Melancholy "That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore" Or The Failed, Self-Absorbed Protest Of The Title Track. While The Production Is More Detailed Than Before, The Smiths Are At Their Best When They Stick To Their Strengths -- "The Headmaster Ritual" And "I Want The One I Can't Have" Are Fine Elaborations Of The Formula They Laid Out On The Debut, While "Rusholme Ruffians" Is An Infectious Stab At Rockabilly. However, The Rest Of Meat Is Murder Is Muddled, Repeating Lyrical And Musical Ideas Of Before Without Significantly Expanding Them Or Offering Enough Hooks Or Melodies To Make It The Equal Of The Smiths Or Hatful Of Hollow." AMG - Stephen Thomas Erlewine.

In Stock
  • Artist: Smiths
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: New - LP
  • Label: Rhino Records
  • Catalog ID: 2564665878
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Mint (M)
  • Country ID: Europe
  • SKU: 170064

Track List

A1 The Headmaster Ritual 4:52
A2 Rusholme Ruffians 4:19
A3 I Want The One I Can't Have 3:13
A4 What She Said 2:40
A5 That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore 4:57
B1 Nowhere Fast 2:35
B2 Well I Wonder 4:00
B3 Barbarism Begins At Home 7:00
B4 Meat Is Murder 6:05