Hagerty, Neil / Royal Trux Related
Neil Michael Hagerty
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Hagerty, Neil / Royal Trux Related

Neil Michael Hagerty
2001 Gatefold Original. Recorded June-October In 2000. "The (Ultimately True) Royal Trux Breakup Rumors Circulating Around The Release Of Neil Michael Hagerty Created A Tense, Chaotic Atmosphere That Reflected The Album's Character Perfectly. As An Extension Of Hagerty (And Partner Jennifer Herrema), Trux Was Nothing If Not Unpredictable, But The Band's Late-'90s Albums Found It Settling Into A Groove That May Have Become Too Comfortable For Hagerty's Restless Creativity. Neil Michael Hagerty Solves This "Problem" With A Collection Of Songs That Avoid Both Trux' Subversive Boogie Rock And Its Avant-noise; It's Not As Explosive Or Loud As The Duo's Definitive Twin Infinitives, But It's Almost As Weird And Self-indulgent. If Anything, Neil Michael Hagerty Is The Sonic Equivalent Of Hagerty's Novel Victory Chimp: Chaotic, Clever, And On A Very Specific Wavelength That He Doesn't Bother To Decode For The Uninitiated. A Study In Contrasts, The Album's Sound Is Considerably Less Polished Than Trux' Later Recordings, Yet The Melodious Voice Hagerty Uses On Songs Like "Know That" Is A Far Cry From His Usual Snarl. Neil Michael Hagerty's Mix Of Stiff, Cheap Drum Machine Beats, Psychedelic Organs, And Guitar Heroics Lends Itself To Some Of Hagerty's Most Mercurial Music: Lengthy Tracks Such As "Kali, The Carpenter," "Fortune And Fear," And "I Found A Stranger" Constantly Shift And Change In Alternately Fascinating And Alienating Ways. Most Of The Album's Strange, Unsettled Music Takes A While To Sink In, But The Percolating "Creature Catcher," The Droning Ballad "Oh To Be Wicked Once Again," And Appealingly Tossed-off "The Menace" Are Relatively Accessible. The Aptly Named "Tender Metal" Showcases Hagerty's Intricate, Lightning-fast Guitar Work, While The Back Porch Shuffle Of "Repeat The Sound Of Joy" And The Trux-like "Whiplash In Park" Add To The Kitchen Sink, Stream-of-consciousness Feel. Despite Bearing His Full Name, Hagerty's Solo Debut Is Hardly The Kind Of Self-aggrandizing Effort That Usually Marks The Beginning Of A Solo Career -- It Feels More Like A Vacation From Royal Trux Than A Departure From It. And Though It's A Strange Trip, Trux Fans Looking For The Spirit Of The Band Rather Than A Replica Of Its Sound Will Find A Lot To Appreciate In Neil Michael Hagerty." AMG - Heather Phares.

In Stock

Track List

A1 Know That
A2 Fortune And Fear
A3 Repeat The Sound Of Joy
A4 Kali, The Carpenter
A5 Whiplash In Park
A6 Creature Catcher
B1 I Found A Stranger
B2 Oh To Be Wicked Once Again
B3 Tender Metal
B4 The Menace
B5 Chicken, You Can Roost On The Moon