Robert Cray Band
Nothin But Love
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Robert Cray Band

Nothin But Love
Sealed Hare To Find 2012 Original. “The Differences In Robert Cray Albums Are Subtle But Noticeable To Fans Of The Veteran Soul-Bluesman. He Retains The Same Backing Trio On This 2012 Release As On 2009's Studio Disc, With The Only Major Difference In Personnel Being The Addition Of Noted Roots Producer Kevin Shirley. Lyrically Detailed Story Ballads About The Trials And Tribulations Of Love, With An Emphasis On Broken Relationships, Remain His Strong Suit As Song Titles Such As "Sadder Days," "Fix This," "I'll Always Remember You," "Won't Be Coming Home," And Even The Album's Title Imply. Yet There Are Enough Change-Ups And Excellent Songs Here To Keep The Pace Varied. Horns That Cray Hasn't Utilized In A While Make A Welcome Appearance On A Few Key Tunes Such As The Big-Band Swing Of "I'll Always Remember You" (Which Seems Like A Tribute To Ray Charles) And The Terrifically Melodic, Midtempo "Blues Get Off My Shoulder." A Little Chuck Berry Rocking In The Snappy And Humorous "Side Dish" Shows That This Band Can Crank Up The Energy When The Occasion Calls For It. Even If Their Brand Of Rock & Roll Is A Little On The Clean-Cut Side, The Track Has A Rawness And Good-Time Feeling That Is Typically Not Associated With Cray. But The Album's Emotional And Philosophical Centerpiece Is The Nearly Nine-Minute "I'm Done Cryin'." This Searing, Contemporary Portrait Is Of A Male Protagonist Who Has Lost His Home And His Job To Outsourcing But Retains His Dignity "Because I'm Still A Man." Shirley Adds Understated But Beautifully Arranged Strings To Emphasize The Sheer Desperation Of The Situation Then Strips Them Away, Leaving Just Cray's Soulful Voice. Add One Of The Guitarist's Patented Terse, Quivering Solos That Feels Like A Crying Vocal, And You Get A Tour De Force Track That Is One Of The Highlights Of Cray's Bulging Catalog. And With 15 Previous Albums, That's Saying Plenty.” – Hal Horowitz, AMG

$50.00 $45.00

Sold Out

Apologies, the one-of-a-kind album you wanted is sold, but please explore similar records from the largest online collection for more unique finds!

  • Genre: Blues
  • Type: New - LP
  • Label: Provogue
  • Catalog ID: PRD 7377 1
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: Europe
  • SKU: 99427

Track List

A1 Won't Be Coming Home 4:52
A2 Worry 4:23
A3 I'll Always Remember You 4:22
A4 Side Dish 3:29
A5 A Memo 4:41
A6 Blues Get Off My Shoulder 3:14
B1 Fix This 4:42
B2 I'm Done Cryin' 8:54
B3 Great Big Old House 5:39
B4 Sadder Days 5:04