Anderson, Jon
Olias Of Sunhillow
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Anderson, Jon

Olias Of Sunhillow
1976 US Original, Monarch Pressing. Housed In A Textured Gatefold Jacket With Custom Card Inner Sleeve. LP Appears Glossy. Excellent Copy. “Inspired By The Artwork Of Roger Dean And The Writings Of Ver Stanley Alder, Jon Anderson Developed An Entire Story Around The Idea Of An Interstellar Exodus From Sunhillow, Writing This Album Around The Narrative (Named For The Spaceship's Architect, Olias). The Idea May Seem Overly Ambitious, But Anderson Fills The Record With Enough Magical Moments To Delight Fans Of Yes' Mystic Side. The Music Is Written And Performed Almost Entirely By Anderson, Who Dubs Vocals, Plays Guitar And Harp, And Adds Percussion And The Occasional Synthesizer To Flesh Out His Ideas So That At No Point Does The Music Lose Its Spellbinding Effect For Lack Of Sonic Detail. Olias Of Sunhillow Is Faithful To The Spirit Of Yes, Though Decidedly More Airy Than That Band's Visceral Style -- Its Closest Comparison Would Be Fragile's "We Have Heaven" Or Going For The One's "Wondrous Stories" (Which Was Clearly Influenced By This Record) On The Vocal Tracks, And Vangelis On The Instrumental Tracks. Although The Album Is Effective In Its Entirety, "Sound Out The Galleon," "Olias (To Build The Moorglade)," And "Solid Space" Are Some Of The More Memorable Excerpts. The Arrangements Incorporate Elements Of The Four Tribes Of Sunhillow, The Most Noticeable Being Oriental Elements That Prefigure Vangelis' Own China (Especially On The Opening "Ocean Song"). While There Are Several Songs That Could Have Easily Fit In Yes' Own Catalog, And The Lyrics Continue To Mine The Mystical Musings That Yes Fans Had Come To Enjoy, Olias Of Sunhillow Is Not The Missing Yes Album Some Might Hope It To Be, Though It Does Deliver On The Promise That The Jon & Vangelis Collaborations Seemed To Hold. If Possible, Pick Up The LP Version Of This Release, Since The Packaging Is Stunning And Features Terrific Artwork By Dave Roe. “ Dave Connolly, AMG.

$35.00 $30.00
In Stock
  • Artist: Anderson, Jon
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Label: Atlantic
  • Catalog ID: SD 18180
  • Condition:
    Very Good Plus (VG+)
    Very Good Plus (VG+)
  • Country ID: US
  • SKU: 169140

Track List

A1 Ocean Song 3:12
A2 Meeting (Garden Of Geda) / Sound Out The Galleon 3:28
A3 Dance Of Ranyart / Olias (To Build The Moorglade) 4:14
A4 Qoquaq Ën Transic / Naon / Transic Tö 7:03
A5 Flight Of The Moorglade 3:22
B1 Solid Space 5:16
B2 Moon Ra / Chords / Song Of Search 12:48
B3 To The Runner 4:26

Related Items