Permanent Waves
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records


Permanent Waves
Sealed 2020 40th Anniversary Deluxe 3LP Boxset Reissue. "Since Neil Peart Joined The Band In Time For 1975's Fly By Night, Rush Had Been Experimenting And Growing Musically With Each Successive Release. By 1980's Permanent Waves, The Modern Sounds Of New Wave (The Police, Peter Gabriel, Etc.) Began To Creep Into Rush's Sound, But The Trio Still Kept Their Hard Rock Roots Intact. The New Approach Paid Off -- Two Of Their Most Popular Songs, The "Make A Difference" Anthem "Freewill," And A Tribute To The Toronto Radio Station CFNY, "The Spirit Of Radio" (The Latter A U.K. Top 15 Hit), Are Spectacular Highlights. Also Included Were Two "Epics," The Stormy "Jacob's Ladder" And The Album-closing "Natural Science," Which Contains A Middle Section That Contains Elements Of Reggae. Geddy Lee Also Began Singing In A Slightly Lower Register Around This Time, Which Made Their Music More Accessible To Fans Outside Of The Heavy Prog Rock Circle. The Album Proved To Be The Final Breakthrough Rush Needed To Become An Arena Headliner Throughout The World, Beginning A String Of Albums That Would Reach Inside The Top Five Of The U.S. Billboard Album Charts. Permanent Waves Is An Undisputed Hard Rock Classic That Endures." AMG Review By Greg Prato.

In Stock
  • Artist: Rush
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: Box Set - New
  • Label: Mercury
  • Catalog ID: B0031582-01
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Mint (M)
  • Country ID: US
  • SKU: 168987

Track List

Bonus Live Content: Permanent Waves World Tour 1980
Original Album
A1 The Spirit Of Radio 4:59
A2 Freewill 5:24
A3 Jacob's Ladder 7:28
B1 Entre Nous 4:37
B2 Different Strings 3:50
B3 Natural Science 9:20
C1 Beneath, Between & Behind (Live In Manchester) 2:30
C2 By-Tor & The Snow Dog (Live In London) 5:52
C3 Xanadu (Live In London) 12:15
D1 The Spirit Of Radio (Live in Manchester) 5:08
D2 Natural Science (Live In Manchester) 8:45
D3 A Passage To Bangkok (Live In Manchester) 3:45
D4 The Trees (Live In Manchester) 5:27
E1 Cygnus X-1 (Live In London) 8:04
E2 Cygnus X-1 Book II (Live In London) 14:45
F1 Closer To The Heart (Live In Manchester) 3:26
F2 Jacob’s Ladder (Live In Missouri) 7:37
F3 Freewill (Live In London) 5:46