Rundgren, Todd
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Rundgren, Todd

1974 US 2LP Original. Clean EX Glossy Vinyl, Jacket More VG With Corner Ding, Ring Wear & Rubs. No Poster. "Maybe Some Listeners Thought That The Sonic Trip A Wizard, A True Star Was A Necessary Exercise In Indulgence And That Todd Rundgren Would Return To The Sweet Pop Of Something/Anything? For Its Follow-Up. Not A Chance. As It Turned Out, A Wizard Was The Launch Pad For Further Dementia, And, Depending On Your Point Of View, Indulgence. Its Follow-Up Was Todd, An Impenetrable Double Album Filled With Detours, Side Roads, Collisions And The Occasional Pop Tune. That Those Pop Tunes Are Among His Best May Come As Little Consolation To The Lightweight Fan Who Has Stumbled Upon Todd. Conceptually, A Wizard, A True Star May Be The Wilder Record, But Todd Is A More Difficult Listen, Thanks To The Layers Of Guitar Solos And Blind Synth Prog Tunes, Such As "In And Out The Chakras We Go." Large Stretches Of The Album Are Purely Instrumental, Foreshadowing The Years Of Synth Experiments With Utopia That Were Just Around The Corner. The Murk Subsides Every So Often, Revealing Either Exquisite Ballads ("A Dream Goes On Forever"), Blistering Rock ("Heavy Metal Kids") Or, More Murk And Dementia (Particularly With How Gilbert & Sullivan Rear Their Heads Not Only On The Requisite Novelty "An Elpee's Worth Of Tunes," But An Honest-To-Goodness Cover Of "Lord Chancellor's Nightmare Song"). These Are Some Major Additions To His Catalog, But The Experiments And The Excesses Are Too Tedious To Make Todd A Necessary Listen For Anyone But The Devoted. But For Those Listeners, The Gems Make The Rough Riding Worthwhile." AMG Review By Stephen Thomas Erlewine.

In Stock
  • Artist: Rundgren, Todd
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Label: Bearsville
  • Catalog ID: 2 BR 6952
  • Condition:
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
    Very Good (VG)
  • Country ID: US
  • SKU: 169750

Track List

A1 How About A Little Fanfare? 0:57
A2 I Think You Know 3:48
A3 The Spark Of Life 6:43
A4 An Elpee's Worth Of Toons 2:08
A5 A Dream Goes On Forever 2:21
A6 Lord Chancellor's Nightmare Song 3:30
B1 Drunken Blue Rooster 3:00
B2 The Last Ride 4:46
B3 Everybody's Going To Heaven / King Kong Reggae 6:35
C1 Number 1 Lowest Common Denominator 5:10
C2 Useless Begging 3:27
C3 Sidewalk Cafe 2:25
C4 Izzat Love? 1:56
C5 Heavy Metal Kids 4:13
D1 In And Out The Chakras We Go (Formerly: Shaft Goes To Outer Space) 5:48
D2 Don't You Ever Learn? 6:01
D3 Sons Of 1984 4:37

Related Items

Rundgren, Todd
Rundgren, Todd
Rundgren, Todd
$25.00 $30.00
Rundgren, Todd
$5.00 $10.00
Rundgren, Todd
$5.00 $12.00
Rundgren, Todd