Dappled Cities

Dappled Cities

Sealed 2009 2LP Gatefold Original. “The Third Release From Dappled Cities Finds The Australian Quartet Continuing To Develop Its Strangely Retro-Futuristic Sound, One That Blends Cheesy Sonics (All Tracks On Zounds Feature The Gakken, A $40 Cardboard Synthesizer From Japan) With Self-Consciously Uneven Vocals And Moments Of Sheer, Glistening Pop Transcendence. If That Sounds Like A Mixed Bag, It Is: Singer Tim Derricourt Warbles With An Annoyingly Precious Fragility On "Hold Your Back," The Album's Opener, But Then Pulls Himself Together Very Nicely For "The Price," On Which He Delivers The Anthemic Hook In A Startlingly Strong Falsetto; That Song Ends Up Sounding, Happily, Something Like A Pet Shop Boys Song As Performed By The Housemartins. "Slow For Me, My Island" Is Weird But Lovely, Whereas "The Night Is Young At Heart" Is Just Weird, Both Songs Built On Attractively Pulsing Chords But Only One Turning Them Into Something Worth Listening To More Than Once. "Miniature Alias" Rewrites Elvis Costello's "Mouth Almighty" While "Don't Stop There" Invokes Vintage David Bowie, And "Stepshadows," The Album's Final Track, Nicely Juxtaposes A Chugging Train-Engine Beat With Near-Choral Vocal Harmonies And Glisteningly Atmospheric Guitars. The Bag Is Definitely Mixed, But The Balance Ends Up Positive.” Rick Anderson, AMG.
In Stock
  • Artist: Dappled Cities
  • Genre: Pop
  • Type: New - LP
  • Label: Dangerbird
  • Catalog ID: DGB038V
  • Condition:
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: USA
  • Our ID: 108508

Track List

A1 Hold Your Back
A2 Answer Is Zero
A3 The Price
B1 Wooden Ships
B2 Slow For Me, My Island
B3 The Night Is Young At Heart
C1 Miniature Alas
C2 Don't Stop There
C3 Kid
D1 Middle People
D2 Apart
D3 Stepshadows