Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records


1987 Original With inner sleeve. “Having Gotten Familiar With Each Other And The Public On Wonderland, Clarke And Bell Aim Their Sights Higher With Its Follow-Up, A More Distinct All-Around Album. Flood Once Again Mans The Production Boards, Helping Bring Out Clarke's Greater Number Of Individual Touches And Approaches To Great Effect. It Can Be The Queasy Synth Whoosh On "Don't Dance," The Chunky Pseudo-Guitar Blasts On Lead Track And Single "It Doesn't Have To Be," Or The Funhouse Keyboards On The Title Song, A Cautionary Environmental Tale, All Testaments To Clarke's Ever-Strengthening Pushback Of Synth-Pop's Presumed Sound And Cliches. Bell In Turn Is Finding More To Do With His Voice, His Breathy Crooning More Seductive And Affecting, While His High-Volume Calls To Musical Arms Generally Avoid Hyper-Ear-Piercing Levels In Favor Of General Appeal. Exceptions Do Crop Up, Admittedly "Sexuality," Which Has A Slightly Clumsy Chorus To Begin With, And Bell's Histrionics Don't Help It. But When The Two Members Are On, They're On In A Big Way, And The Two Major Hit Singles From The Circus Are Prime Examples Of Erasure In Excelsis. "Victim Of Love" Has Bell Showing Off Some Great Soul Chops Right From The Start Over An Inspiring, Charging Melody, While "Sometimes" Contains A Strong Dance Beat And Clarke's Synth/Acoustic Guitar Mix Underscoring Bell's Call For Love. Elsewhere, The Band's Social Conscience Makes Itself Known Without Sounding Obvious, Especially On "Hideaway." Detailing The Coming-Out Of A Young Man To His Family And His Resultant Need To Leave Home, It Makes Its Point With Drama But Not Histrionics, Bell's Multi-Tracked Chorus At Once Uplifting And Empathetic.” AMG – Ned Raggett

In Stock
  • Artist: Erasure
  • Genre: Pop
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Label: Sire
  • Catalog ID: 25554
  • Condition:
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: USA
  • SKU: 180106

Track List

A1 It Doesn't Have To Be 3:53
A2 Hideaway 3:48
A3 Don't Dance 3:36
A4 If I Could 3:52
A5 Sexuality 3:55
B1 Victim Of Love 3:40
B2 Leave Me To Bleed 3:21
B3 Sometimes 3:38
B4 The Circus 5:30
B5 Spiralling 3:10

Related Items