Baez, Joan
Diamonds And Rust In The Bullring

Baez, Joan

Diamonds And Rust In The Bullring
Sealed 2014 Limited Edition 200gm Audiophile Pressing Mastered From The Original Analog Tapes. Pressed At QRP. "Diamonds & Rust In The Bullring Is Not To Be Confused With Her 1975 Studio Album Diamonds & Rust, Of Course, And It Is Not A Live Recording Of The Songs From That Album, Either, Even Though The Song "Diamonds & Rust" Itself Does Lead It Off. So, The Title Is Not Helpful. The Album Chronicles A Show Performed By Baez, In A Bullring, Naturally, In Bilbao, Spain, In 1988, And It Demonstrates What Makes Her Such A Draw Overseas. Half Of The Collection (Side Two Of The LP And Cassette, Tracks Seven Through 12 Of The CD) Consists Of Songs Sung In Spanish, Recalling Her 1974 All-Spanish Album Gracias A La Vida And Including That LP's Title Song, Here Performed As A Duet With Mercedes Sosa, "El Preso Numero Nueve" (Which Was Also On Her Debut Album, Joan Baez, In 1960), "Llego Con Tres Heridas," And "No Nos Moveran" (Aka "We Shall Not Be Moved"). Also Part Of The Spanish Side Are A Translation Of Sting's "They Dance Alone (Gueca Solo)," Called "Ellas Danzan Solas (Cueca Sola)." (Singing In Spanish Always Seems To Remind Baez Of The Bloody Chilean Military Coup And Its Aftermath.) But The Song That Most Moves The Crowd Is The Pretty "Txoria Txori," A Song In Basque With Which They Sing Along."" William Ruhlmann, AMG
In Stock
  • Artist: Baez, Joan
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: Audiophile - New
  • Catalog ID: APF 080
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Mint (M)
  • Country ID: USA
  • Our ID: 123727

Track List

In English
In Spanish
A1 Diamonds And Rust 3:45
A2 Ain't Gonna Let Nobody Turn Me Around 1:22
A3 No Woman No Cry 3:45
A4 Famous Blue Raincoat 4:58
A5 Swing Low Sweet Chariot 3:41
A6 Let It Be 3:59
B1 El Preso Numero Nueve 3:14
B2 Llego Con Tres Heridas 2:28
B3 Txoria Txori 2:54
B4 Ellas Danzan Solas (Cueca Sola) 5:35
B5 Gracias A La Vida 6:05
B6 No Nos Moveran 1:22