Depeche Mode
Some Great Reward
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Depeche Mode

Some Great Reward
Sealed 2020 Repress Housed In A Gatefold Jacket. EU import. “The Peak Of The Band's Industrial-Gone-Mainstream Fusion, And Still One Of The Best Electronic Music Albums Yet Recorded, Some Great Reward Still Sounds Great, With The Band's Ever-Evolving Musical And Production Skills Matching Even More Ambitious Songwriting From Martin Gore. "People Are People" Appears Here, But Finds Itself Outclassed By Some Of Depeche Mode's Undisputed Classics, Most Especially The Moody, Beautiful "Somebody," A Gore-Sung Piano Ballad That Mixes Its Wit And Emotion Skillfully; "Master And Servant," An Amped-Up, Slamming Dance Track That Conflates Sexual And Economic Politics To Sharp Effect; And The Closing "Blasphemous Rumors," A Slow-Building Anthemic Number Supporting One Of Gore's Most Cynical Lyrics, Addressing A Suicidal Teen Who Finds God Only To Die Soon Afterward. Even Lesser-Known Tracks Like The Low-Key Pulse Of "Lie To Me" And The Weirdly Dreamy "It Doesn't Matter" Showcase An Increasingly Confident Band. Alan Wilder's Arrangements Veer From The Big To The Stripped Down, But Always With Just The Right Touch, Such As The Crowd Samples Bubbling Beneath "Somebody" Or The Call/Response A Cappella Start To "Master And Servant." With Reward, David Gahan's Singing Style Found The Métier It Was Going To Stick With For The Next Ten Years, And While It's Never Gone Down Well With Some Ears, It Still Has A Compelling Edge To It That Suits The Material Well.” Ned Raggett, AMG.

In Stock
  • Artist: Depeche Mode
  • Genre: Pop
  • Type: New Import
  • Label: Legacy
  • Catalog ID: STUMM19 / 88985330011
  • Condition:
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: Europe
  • SKU: 175087

Track List

A1 Something To Do 3:45
A2 Lie To Me 5:04
A3 People Are People 3:52
A4 It Doesn't Matter 4:45
A5 Stories Of Old 3:12
B1 Somebody 4:26
B2 Master And Servant 4:13
B3 If You Want 4:40
B4 Blasphemous Rumours 6:21