The Hits 1
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records


The Hits 1
Sealed 2022 Vinyl Compilation Reissue, Standard Black Vinyl Edition. "The Primary Fault With Prince's Two-Part Hits Collection Is That Both Volumes Are Missing Some Important Singles And Are Sequenced Incoherently, Thereby Failing To Give An Accurate Impression Of His Astonishing Musical Growth. However, They Do Contain Enough Necessary Items To Illustrate Why He Was One Of The Most Influential And Gifted Musicians Of The '80s, As Well As Providing A Reasonable Introduction And Compilation For Casual Fans. Hits 1 Contains A Good Cross Section Of His Biggest Hits -- "When Doves Cry" (Presented In An Edited Version), "When You Were Mine," "Let's Go Crazy," "1999," "Sign 'o' The Times," "Alphabet Street," "Diamonds And Pearls," "7" -- Plus New Items Like "Pink Cashmere" And "Nothing Compares 2 U" (A Prince Song That Sinéad O'connor Took To Number One) That Are Nearly As Good As The Familiar Tracks. However, It Provides An Incomplete Portrait, Making Hits 1 An Unnecessary Purchase." AMG Review By Stephen Thomas Erlewine.

In Stock
  • Artist: Prince
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: New - LP
  • Label: NPG Records
  • Catalog ID: 19439953411
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: US
  • SKU: 170581