Mayall, John
The Turning Point

Mayall, John

The Turning Point
1969 Original. Features Johnny Almond, Steve Thompson And Jon Mark. “This Prophetically Titled Project Represents Yet Another Crossroad In John Mayall's Ever Evolving Cast Of Prime British Bluesmen. This Album Also Signifies A Distinct Departure From The Decibel Drowning Electrified Offerings Of His Previous Efforts, Providing Instead An Exceedingly More Folk And Roots Based Confab. Mayall (Vocals/Harmonica/Slide Guitar/Telecaster Six-String/Hand & Mouth Percussion) Joined Forces With Former Associates Steve Thompson (Bass) And Johnny Almond (Tenor & Alto Sax/Flute/Mouth Percussion), Then Added The Talents Of Jon Mark (Acoustic Finger-Style Guitar). It Becomes Readily Apparent That Mark's Precision And Tasteful Improvisational Skills Place This Incarnation Into Heady Spaces. The Taut Interaction And Wafting Solos Punctuating "So Hard To Share" Exemplify The Controlled Intensity Of Mayall's Prior Electrified Outings. Likewise, Mark's Intricate Acoustics Pierce Through The Growl Of Mayall's Haunting Slide Guitar Solos On "Saw Mill Gulch Road." The Turning Point Also Examines A Shift In Mayall's Writing. The Politically Charged "Laws Must Change," The Personal "I'm Gonna Fight For You J.B." And The Incomparable "Room To Move" Are Tinged With Mayall's Trademark Sense Of Irony And Aural Imagery.” Lindsay Planer, AMG.
In Stock
  • Artist: Mayall, John
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Label: Polydor
  • Catalog ID: 24-4004
  • Country ID: US
  • Our ID: 145147

Track List

A1 The Laws Must Change 6:13
A2 Saw Mill Gulch Road 4:38
A3 I'm Gonna Fight For You J.B. 5:11
A4 So Hard To Share 6:43
B1 California 9:14
B2 Thoughts About Roxanne 7:50
B3 Room To Move 4:34