We're All Gonna Die


We're All Gonna Die
Sealed 2016 Original On Standard Black Vinyl, Housed In A Gatefold Jacket. Produced By Renowned LA Studio Savant, Blake Mills. Hype Sticker On Front. Includes Download. "The Fifth Studio Album From Dawes, 2016's Cheekily Titled We're All Gonna Die, Finds The Rootsy Los Angeles Outfit Pushing Its Melodic, Literate Roots Rock In An Artsier, More Sonically Experimental Direction. Following Up The Group's Engaging 2015 Effort All Your Favorite Bands, We're All Gonna Die Feels Like The Beginning Of A Creative Transformation Where The Band Begins To Shed All Genre Constraints And Influences, Emerging As Its Own Fantastically Musical Creature. It Brings To Mind The Early-2000s Metamorphosis Of Wilco, The Most Obvious Antecedent To Dawes' Own Thinking-man's Folk-rock Aesthetic. Still Centered On Lead Singer/songwriter Taylor Goldsmith, Dawes Take All The Poignant Twang That Made Up Their Previous Work And Imbue It With A Tactile, Delicately Experimental Vibe On A Set Of Songs That Are As Imaginative And Catchy As Ever. The Album Vibrates With A Dichotomous Energy That Somehow Brings To Mind An Improbable Mix Of Tom Petty, Paul Simon, And Electric Light Orchestra. And It's An Energy That Flows From Goldsmith's Lyrics As He Finds Layers Of Metaphysical Irony And Eye-winking Depth To Unveil In His Steady, Warm Croon. As Goldsmith Sings On "As If By Design," "The Stars Were Just The Holes Punched In The Shoebox/that Gives A Creature All The Air He Needs To Breathe/as If Every Constellation Was Just A Form Of Ventilation/from A Captor Too Enormous To Conceive." And Later, "Every Day Getting A Little More Acquainted With The Riddles Until I'm Looking For Them Everywhere I Go." With We're All Gonna Die, Dawes Have Crafted An Album Rife With Riddles And Musical Poetry, Whose Meaning May Take A Few Listens To Completely Grab You. However, When It Does Finally Hit You, It's Hard To Shake The Feeling That Dawes Have Opened A Door Into The Cosmos." AllMusic Review By Matt Collar.
In Stock
  • Artist: Dawes
  • Genre: Pop
  • Type: New Import
  • Label: HUB Records
  • Catalog ID: HUB007-1
  • Country ID: USA
  • Our ID: 160486