(What’s The Story) Morning Glory ?


(What’s The Story) Morning Glory ?
Sealed 2020 2LP Tri-Fold Repress. No Hype Sticker. "If Definitely Maybe Was An Unintentional Concept Album About Wanting To Be A Rock & Roll Star, (What's The Story) Morning Glory? Is What Happens After The Dreams Come True. Oasis Turns In A Relatively Introspective Second Record, Filled With Big, Gorgeous Ballads Instead Of Ripping Rockers. Unlike Definitely Maybe, The Production On Morning Glory Is Varied Enough To Handle The Range In Emotions; Instead Of Drowning Everything With Amplifiers Turned Up To 12, There Are Strings, Keyboards, And Harmonicas. This Expanded Production Helps Give Noel Gallagher's Sweeping Melodies An Emotional Resonance That He Occasionally Can't Convey Lyrically. However, That Is Far From A Fatal Flaw; Gallagher's Lyrics Work Best In Fragments, Where The Images Catch In Your Mind And Grow, Thanks To The Music. Gallagher May Be Guilty Of Some Borrowing, Or Even Plagiarism, But He Uses The Familiar Riffs As Building Blocks. This Is Where His Genius Lies: He's A Thief And Doesn't Have Many Original Thoughts, But As A Pop/rock Melodicist He's Pretty Much Without Peer. Likewise, As Musicians, Oasis Are Hardly Innovators, Yet They Have A Majestic Grandeur In Their Sound That Makes Ballads Like "Wonderwall" Or Rockers Like "Some Might Say" Positively Transcendent. Alan White Does Add Authority To The Rhythm Section, But The Most Noticeable Change Is In Liam Gallagher. His Voice Sneered Throughout Definitely Maybe, But On Morning Glory His Singing Has Become More Textured And Skillful. He Gives The Lyric In The Raging Title Track A Hint Of Regret, Is Sympathetic On "Wonderwall," Defiant On "Some Might Say," And Humorous On "She's Electric," A Bawdy Rewrite Of "Digsy's Diner." It Might Not Have The Immediate Impact Of Definitely Maybe, But Morning Glory Is Just As Exciting And Compulsively Listenable." AMG Review By Stephen Thomas Erlewine." AMG Review By Stephen Thomas Erlewine.
In Stock
  • Artist: Oasis
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: New Import
  • Label: Big Brother
  • Catalog ID: RKIDLP73
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Mint (M)
  • Country ID: Europe
  • Our ID: 169201

Track List

A1 Hello 3:21
A2 Roll With It 3:59
A3 Wonderwall 4:18
B1 Don’t Look Back In Anger 4:48
B2 Hey Now! 5:41
B3 Untitled 0:44
B4 Bonehead’s Bank Holiday 4:03
C1 Some Might Say 5:29
C2 Cast No Shadow 4:51
C3 She’s Electric 3:40
D1 Morning Glory 5:03
D2 Untitled 0:39
D3 Champagne Supernova 7:27