Get Close
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records


Get Close
1986 Original, Allied Pressing, Still In Shrink With Custom Hype Sticker. Has An "Image Records" Sticker Affixed To The Front Cover Under Shrink. Glossy Vinyl, Two Tiny Corner Dings & Very Small Saw Cut. “Get Close Marked The Debut Of The Pretenders' Mark Three, And On This Album Listeners Are Introduced To Chrissie Hynde, Mature Professional Musician With A Band To Match. Get Close Is Never Less Than Solid As A Work Of Craft, And Guitarist Robbie Mcintosh, Drummer Blair Cunningham, And Bassist T.M. Stevens Deliver Tight And Emphatic Performances Throughout, But They Also Sound Like What They Are -- Journeymen Musicians Who Bring Their Chops To Their Projects While Leaving Their Personalities At The Door. While Hynde Always Dominated The Pretenders, By This Time It Was Obvious That This Was Fully Her Show, And If She Felt Less Like Rocking And More Like Exploring Her Emotions And Thoughts About Parenthood On Midtempo Pop Tunes, No One In The Group Was Going To Prod Her Into Doing Otherwise; The Presence Of A Large Number Of Additional Session Players Further Buffs Away Any Of Get Close's Potential Sharp Edges. Despite All This, Hynde's Voice Is In Great Form Throughout, And When She Gets Her Dander Up, She Still Has Plenty To Say And Good Ways To Say It; "How Much Did You Get For Your Soul?" Is A Gleefully Venomous Attack On The Musically Unscrupulous; "Don't Get Me Wrong" Is A Superb Pop Tune And A Deserved Hit Single; And The Motown-Flavored "I Remember You" And The Moody "Chill Factor" Suggest She'd Been Learning A Lot From Her Old Soul Singles.” Mark Deming, AMG.

In Stock
  • Artist: Pretenders
  • Genre: Pop
  • Type: Used - LP
  • Label: Sire
  • Catalog ID: 25488
  • Condition:
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: USA
  • Our ID: 168213

Track List

A1 My Baby 4:07
A2 When I Change My Life 3:39
A3 Light Of The Moon 3:56
A4 Dance! 4:43
A5 Tradition Of Love 5:23
B1 Don't Get Me Wrong 3:46
B2 I Remember You 2:37
B3 How Much Did You Get For Your Soul? 3:46
B4 Chill Factor 3:23
B5 Hymn To Her 5:07
B6 Room Full Of Mirrors 4:33