Mighty SuperFunk. Rare 45s And Undiscovered Masters 1967-1978 (Volume 6)
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records


Mighty SuperFunk. Rare 45s And Undiscovered Masters 1967-1978 (Volume 6)
Sealed, Presumed Latest Press Of The Original 2008 LP Compilation. This Is Volume Six, Curated By Acid Jazz Affiliate Dean Rudland. This LP Is Chock-Full Of Rare And Unreleased Funk Masterpieces; Featuring Artists Such As The Love Experience, The Phillips Brothers, Mr Jamo, The Radiations & Joe Hayward Among Others."The Sixth Volume Of Ace's Long-running Superfunk Series Is A Pretty Typical One: 20 Pretty High-Class Rarities From Funk's Golden Age, Seven Of Them Previously Unissued, And None Of Them From Famous Performers. Perhaps The Label Needs To Dig Even Deeper Than Usual As Time Goes On, Getting Into The Vaults Not Only Of Unreleased Material, But Also Sources (Such As Companies Specializing In Latin Music) That Researchers Might Not Necessarily Assume Hold Some Pure Funk. While The Results Couldn't Be Said To Be On Par With The Best Funk Of The Era, They're Pretty Good (If Occasionally Generic), And Considerably Above The Quality Of What You'll Find In The Average Rarity Compilations Assembled For Some Other Genres Of The Era, Like '60s Garage Rock And Northern Soul. Some Of The Better Outings Here Include The Exuberant Disc-Opener By The Love Experience, "Are You Together For The New Day?"; The Philips Brothers' Outrageous Courtroom Scenario "Who Stole My Cookie"; Mr. Jamo's "Shake What You Brought With You," Elevated By Electric Sitar; Elroy Peace's "New Day," Which Is Laced With Some Really Weird Wobbly Wordless Vocal Sounds; And James Carpenter's Lewd "Party Time." True, The Covers Of "Cold Sweat" And "It's Your Thing" Seem Rather Unnecessary In View Of The Obvious Considerable Superiority Of The Originals. It's Also True That You Might Want To Start The Album At Different Places Or Use Random Shuffle On Repeat Plays, Since The Similarity Of The Vibe In Many Cuts Causes Attention To Wander When Heard All At Once." AMG Review By Richie Unterberger.

$37.00 $32.00
In Stock
  • Artist: Various
  • Genre: Funk
  • Type: New Import
  • Label: BGP Records
  • Catalog ID: BGP2 196
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Mint (M)
  • Country ID: Europe
  • SKU: 169461

Track List

A1 Are You Together For The New Day? 3:12
A2 Queen Of Loosers 3:00
A3 Groovy Baby 2:26
A4 One Sweet Song 2:34
A5 I'm Moving Home 3:56
B1 Who Stole My Cookie 3:32
B2 Shake What You Brought With You 3:38
B3 It's Your Thing 5:38
B4 It's Mookie Time 2:25
B5 Party Time 3:56
C1 Moving Woman 2:53
C2 Bad, Bad Woman Pt 1 3:12
C3 New Day 2:55
C4 He Say, She Say 6:17
C5 Do It 3:42
D1 Shakin' Up The Nation 3:16
D2 Cold Sweat 2:22
D3 (Play Me) A Cornbread Song 2:48
D4 Some Mother's Son 3:36
D5 The Sneak 2:51

Related Items

$30.00 $35.00
$25.00 $30.00