Depeche Mode
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Depeche Mode

Sealed, Repress Of 2017 180gm Gatefold EU Reissue. New Rear Cover Layout, No Label Code And Barcode & Copyright Logos Are Spread Out. "In A Word, Stunning. Perhaps An Odd Word To Use Given That Violator Continued In The General Vein Of The Previous Two Studio Efforts By Depeche Mode: Martin Gore's Upfront Lyrical Emotional Extremism And Knack For A Catchy Hook Filtered Through Alan Wilder's Ear For Perfect Arrangements, Ably Assisted By Top English Producer Flood. Yet The Idea That This Record Would Both Dominate Worldwide Charts, While Song For Song Being Simply The Best, Most Consistent Effort Yet From The Band Could Only Have Been The Wildest Fantasy Before Its Release. The Opening Two Singles From The Album, However, Signaled Something Was Up. First Was "Personal Jesus," At Once Perversely Simplistic, With A Stiff, Arcane Funk/Hip-Hop Beat And Basic Blues Guitar Chords, And Tremendous, Thanks To Sharp Production Touches And David Gahan's Echoed, Snaky Vocals. Then "Enjoy The Silence," A Nothing-Else-Remains-But-Us Ballad Pumped Up Into A Huge, Dramatic Romance/Dance Number, Commanding In Its Mock Orchestral/Choir Scope. Follow-Up Single "Policy Of Truth" Did Just Fine As Well, A Low-Key Motown Funk Number For The Modern Day With A Sharp Love/Hate Lyric To Boot. To Top It All Off, The Album Itself Scored On Song After Song, From The Shuffling Beat Of "Sweetest Perfection" (Well Sung By Gore) And The Ethereal "Waiting For The Night" To The Guilt-Ridden-And-Loving-It "Halo" Building Into A String-swept Pounder. "Clean" Wraps Up Violator On An Eerie Note, All Ominous Bass Notes And Odd Atmospherics Carrying The Song. Goth Without Ever Being Stupidly Hammy, Synth Without Sounding Like The Clinical Stereotype Of Synth Music, Rock Without Ever Sounding Like A "Rock" Band, Depeche Here Reach Astounding Heights Indeed." AMG Review By Ned Raggett.

In Stock
  • Artist: Depeche Mode
  • Genre: Rock
  • Type: New - LP
  • Label: Mute
  • Catalog ID: STUMM64
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: US
  • SKU: 180032

Track List

A1 World In My Eyes
A2 Sweetest Perfection
A3 Personal Jesus
A4 Halo
A5 Waiting For The Night
B1 Enjoy The Silence
B2 Policy Of Truth
B3 Blue Dress
B4 Clean