Sinatra, Frank
Rare & Collectible Vinyl Records

Sinatra, Frank

Sealed 2022 Reissue Housed In A Replicated Textured Gatefold Jacket. His Only Concept Album And A Little-Known Gem. Includes A New Mix And A Poster. Tiny Corner Bump. "Watertown Is Frank Sinatra's Most Ambitious Concept Album, As Well As His Most Difficult Record. Not Only Does It Tell A Full-fledged Story, It Is His Most Explicit Attempt At Rock-oriented Pop. Since The Main Composer Of Watertown Is Bob Gaudio, The Author Of The Four Seasons' Hits "Can't Take My Eyes Off Of You," "Walk Like A Man," And "Big Girls Don't Cry," That Doesn't Come As A Surprise. With Jake Holmes, Gaudio Created A Song Cycle Concerning A Middle-aged, Small-town Man Whose Wife Left Him With The Kids. Constructed As A Series Of Brief Lyrical Snapshots That Read Like Letters Or Soliloquies, The Culminating Effect Of The Songs Is An Atmosphere Of Loneliness, But It Is A Loneliness Without Much Hope Or Romance -- It Is The Sound Of A Broken Man. Producer Charles Calello Arranged Musical Backdrops That Conveyed The Despair Of The Lyrics. Weaving Together Prominent Electric Guitars, Keyboards, Drum Kits, And Light Strings, Calello Uses Pop/rock Instrumentation And Production Techniques, But That Doesn't Prevent Sinatra From Warming To The Material. In Fact, He Turns In A Wonderful Performance, Drawing Out Every Emotion From The Lyrics, Giving The Album's Character Depth." AMG - Stephen Thomas Erlewine.

In Stock
  • Artist: Sinatra, Frank
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Type: New - LP
  • Label: Reprise
  • Catalog ID: FS 1031
  • Condition:
    Mint (M)
    Near Mint (NM or M-)
  • Country ID: USA
  • SKU: 177888